Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Favorite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads

This will probably be quite brief for personal reasons I tend not to look too deeply into father figures etc after my dad passed away when I was 15.

Arthur Weasley (Harry Potter);

I don’t think I really need to say much here that many other people won’t already say. He is brilliant, great outlook on life, brilliant sense of humour and really wise when he needs to be!

Hans Hubermann (The Book Thief)

I wasn’t a big fan of The Book Thief but one of the few things I did enjoy was how loving and caring Hans Hubermann

Bernard Clark (Me Before You)

I really loved Bernard Clark as a father figure he reminded me very much of my dad and my father in law – witty, sarcastic and will take the p*** out of your for anything and everything.

Unknown (Lola & The Boy Next Door)

I’m sorry but I have completely spaced out on the names of both Dads from Lola & the Boy Next Door but they seem like great dads to me. I think others might see them as a little over protective but I thought they were really great!

Rubeus Hagrid (Harry Potter)

I freaking love Hagrid and I think he is probably the most underated character ever written! Everyone likes Hagrid (or most people do anyway) but I don’t think people appreciate him and everything he contributes throughout the books. I think he is the best father figure Harry has I have many issues with the others who are claimed to be father figures (Sirius & Dumbledore) but Hagrid is protective, strong, humble & he really helps guide Harry through his time at Hogwarts! All Hail Hagrid!

 

9 thoughts on “T5W: Favorite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

  1. I am sorry about the loss of your own dad 😦 Glad we have Hans in common though surprised that you didn’t like the Book Thief. Could it have been because of the tragedy at the end? I have forgotten Clark although I think Will’s mom stood out more for me. Great list.

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 I think I prefer WW2 novels that are a little more gritty and show the under belly of the war and The Book Thief was a good book but it seemed to almost make the war sound a little softer than it was, if that makes sense? Yes! Will’s mum really does stand out doesn’t she 🙂

      Like

  2. I LOVE that you included Hagrid. That man does not get enough credit for all that he does for Harry. Great list, are you currently sharing your writing on any other movie/tv platforms?

    Like

Leave a Reply

