Book Tag

Beauty & The Beast Book Tag (Original)

Drawing1

I think it’s well known that I love a good tag, I was looking through some tag posts and wondered if there was a Beauty & The Beast one (as this is my favorite Disney film). After a quick google search I couldn’t find anything so I decided to create my own. This is the first tag I’ve ever created so I hope you all like it.

Rules;

Simply thank the person who tagged you, mention the creator (myself) and match a book to each of the songs/characters below. Then tag as many people as you like to do the same 🙂

1. “Tale As Old As Time” – A popular theme, trope or setting you will never get bored of reading.

Tale as old as time
For me I would have to say I will never get bored of reading books set in World War 2. I have always been fascinated by this time period and I really love reading about it. I don’t enjoy every book about it but if it’s a bit gritty or it shows the under belly of the war (and not overly romanticizing it) I will love it! (Examples: Didn’t like and couldn’t finish The Nightingale or All The Light We Cannot See but loved Crooked Heart & Wolf by Wolf)

2. Belle – A book your brought for it’s beautiful cover that’s just as beautiful inside too

Belle
I am a bugger for buying books for the covers and I really need to stop because it doesn’t tend to work out for me, I can’t help myself though. I actually picked The Winners Curse by Marie Rutkoski up solely for the cover and it has now become my favorite series. It is full of political intrigue, well thought out and fleshed out characters and a smart heroine who fights with her wits.

3. Beast – A book you didn’t expect much from but pleasantly surprised you.

BeastMe Before You by JoJo Moyes was a surprise for me. I haven’t really read a lot of contemporary since my early 20’s and I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this one (partly due to the mixed reviews) but I found myself emotionally invested with the characters. I can see why others have issue with this book but I really liked it.

4. Gaston – A book everyone loves that you don’t

GastonI tend to get sucked in with hyped books and then let down. I’m going with a bit of a controversial one here and I’m going to pick The Throne of Glass series (Please don’t throw rotting tomatoes at me). I enjoyed the first two books but the prequel and Heir of Fire quickly made me fall out of love with the series, I tried Queen of Shadows but I just couldn’t get into it so it’s currently unfinished on my shelf. I have many reasons for this but I don’t want to spoil anyone.

5. Lefou – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counter part.

LefouI’m going with Lucien from A Court of Thorns & Roses (Not so much in A Court of Mist & Fury). I loved how he and Feyre rubbed each other the wrong way and then ended up bouncing off each other towards the end – I think it’s really sad what Sarah J Maas did to most the characters in ACOMAF but I think that’s possibly another unpopular opinion of mine.

6. Mrs Potts, Chip, Lumier & Cogsworth – A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught you something valuable

pottscogslumchip
I have many I could pick for this as I have always used reading as a way of escaping reality. Anything by Neil Gaiman & the Harry Potter series would be my obvious first choices but I thought I would try and pick something I wouldn’t normally mention. I have picked Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig this is not a novel this is a true story of a man who came through and triumphed over mental illness. I have suffered with anxiety & depression for at least 10 years and in the last 9 months my anxiety has been out of control so I picked this book up a few months ago and it was incredible just how accurate his descriptions were! I would say this could be a trigger for some people as it helped me but my brother found it triggered him a little so please just be weary of that if you are interested in reading!

7. “Something There” – A book or a series that you wasn’t into at first but picked up towards the end.

Someting there

I’m going with 1984 by George Orwell for this one. I found the whole book to be a little slow in pace. The first half especially though I kept thinking “okay dude, can we get to the point a little quicker please.” but then when I finished it really blew my mind how much had actually happened without me even realizing it – it’s quite hard to explain but it’s a brilliant read.

8. “Be Our Guest” – A fictional character you’d love to have over for dinner

be our guestI’d love to hang out with Kestrel from The Winners Trilogy. I used to play the keyboard (as we couldn’t afford a piano) and I’d love her to teach me how to play and I think we’d have some really great conversations as her mind works a lot like mine 🙂

I tag;
Book Bloggers:
bookcomablog ~ TheBibliophileBlog ~ Booksandbubblebathsblog ~ Reader Rayna ~ Hello Beautiful Book Blog ~ Freedom Library  ~TheGirlWhoReadtooMuch ~ MissPrint ~ WordsMalarkey ~ Kirsty’s Book Shelf 100 ~ Book Owly ~ Cover to Corver Mom ~

And anyone else who wants to do the tag 🙂

32 thoughts on “Beauty & The Beast Book Tag (Original)

  1. I LOVED the tag!!! B&TB is my favorite Disney movie too!!! I’ve been waiting a LONG time for it to come back out of the vault so I can buy it for my daughter!!!

    I also loved Me Before You! It surprised me as well. I didn’t think it was possible to live up to the hype, but it really did. 1984 has been on my TBR list for ages! I’m really curious now!

    I’m so honored to be tagged for a original tag you created! I can’t wait to do it 😊

    Like

    1. Awww thank you! I’ve been so nervous about what people will think 🙂 I’d recommend you pick up 1984 when you are wanting to pick up something you really need to concentrate on it can be pretty full on a bit of a slog 🙂 can’t wait to see your answers 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is just lovely! I’ve assisted with the drama couching on a school production of Beauty & the Beast last year. So yes – I know alllll the songs AND the whole script off by heart….Your post is absolutely gorgeous. Will stop by again tomorrow to look on the laptop. On my phone now!

    Like

  3. I also read Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig and found it a very calming read. I like that he shared his experience on depression without overlooking how other people’s might be different. I could relate to some things he went through and felt, but others were foreign to me.
    Nice tag! 🙂

    Like

  4. Hello, I’m new to wordpress but I am a huge fan of book bloggers because I am one too. I came across your tag from someone I follow and I just wanted to say how amazing and original this tag is. I am a HUGE Beauty and the Beast fan; Belle is my character. I wanted to say that I am looking forward to doing this tag but, I wanted to ask a question first. Can we use the pictures that are there for each question or do we use our own?

    Like

    1. I look forward to seeing your answers! You can use the pictures I used or you can use others it’s completely up to you 😁 all I ask is you mention me as the creator of the tag and you have fun doing it, everything else is open to interpretation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much! And yes I will definitely give you all full credit. I am so excited. I will use the ones that are there as I think they fit the questions perfectly. Looking forward to reading your blog and discovering even more awesome book bloggers.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s so true about 1984! I took a Dystopian Literature class once and that was our first read. At first I was dreading it because like you said, the start is painfully slow, but it ended up being really good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the covers of The Winner’s Curse series, they’re all so lovely!! ❤ And Me Before You was a lovely surprise for me too, I had heard lots about it but hadn't expected to love it as much as I did. 🙂 Love this tag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

