Top 5 Wednesday

Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

Top 5 Wednesday

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads

This weeks topic is favourite books outside your comfort zone. This was a bit of a tricky one for me as I do have quite eclectic taste when it comes to books and I wouldn’t say anything imparticular is outside my comfort zone. I have decided to list a book from genre’s that aren’t my favourites.

YA Contemporary:

UK

Eleanor & Park ~ I don’t tend to read YA Contemporary because my teenage years were very tricky and so I can’t relate to what they are usually about (boy trouble). I loved this as it was a more realistic (for me) I could really relate to Eleanor in particular.

 Sci-Fi:

illum

Illuminae ~ I don’t read a lot of sci-fi it’s not a genre I find myself reaching for but I picked this one up for the Tome Topple Read-a-thon and really enjoyed it. The format is really unique and makes it a really quick read, it id take me a couple of tries to get into it but when I did I flew through.

 Autobiographies:

mcfMcFly: Unsaid Things ~ I’m going to show my fangirl side now I was 12 when McFly brought out their first single and I was absolutely obsessed with them – I have never been one for “Boy Bands” and usually can’t stand them but McFly were different to me they played their own instruments, wrote their own songs and were just the perfect amount of cheesy! I am not one for autobiographies but I did pick this one up and I loved how honest and funny it was but it also talked about some really difficult topics too and I appreciated the honesty.

“Other” Classics:

animal

Animal Farm ~ First I’ll explain what I mean by Other Classics. “Other Classics” tend to be the books that focus more on society or how we work as people and tend to be a little bit pretentious compared to “normal” classics which are romanced based such as Jane Eyre, Pride & Prejudice etc. I LOVED Animal Farm so much! I devoured it in one sitting and laughed so hard. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea but I adored it! All the stars given for this little gem!

Time Travel:

Niffenegger_TTW_mech.indd

Not sure if this counts as a category but for this one I’m picking The Time Travellers Wife. I struggle sometimes with books that have a lot of time travel because it can get a little confusing trying to keep up with when you are if it’s not written well but this one I remember being a great read for me

4 thoughts on “Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

