Discussion

Wrapping My TBR ~ A discussion (of sorts)

After seeing a few of Wish Fullfillments TBR unwrapping videos I’ve been umming and ahhing about whether to do this myself. Here’s a link to the one of the videos. Basically you wrap up all the books you own that you have yet to read and then at the beginning of the month or whenever you finish a book you pick the wrapping paper for the genre that matches your mood and unwrap it.

I think for me personally this is a brilliant idea. Firstly because I get so distracted by my new books when I have old ones on my shelf that have been there well over a year. Not being able to see what I’m picking up will help me get around to some of those older books I’m currently missing out on since I’m sure I have a few gems gathering dust!
Second bonus is that I tend to get intimidated by books, usually ones with a lot of hype around them, and this again will help me get around to those a lot quicker. I feel like I am missing out on some really popular books just because I’m worried they won’t live up to the hype.
The third main reason I’d love to do this is because who doesn’t love unwrapping things that look like presents! Especially when there’s a book inside!

There are some negatives to this but they don’t seem to outweigh the positives for me personally. I guess it would make it harder to do read-a-thons with certain challenges and it will make it near on impossible if I decide I really want to read a certain book. However the organiser in my is wondering if this could be got around if I number the books and create a spreadsheet with them all on and if I do a read-a-thon with challenges I can narrow the list down to cover it 🙂

So I will be heading into town next weekend to pick out some wrapping paper and will spending the week oragnising my TBR books into 3 or 4 different piles.

I’d love to know what you all think of this idea:

Do you do this?
How many categories would you have / what would they be?
Do you think you would be able to stick to this?

2 thoughts on “Wrapping My TBR ~ A discussion (of sorts)

Leave a Reply

