Top 5 Wednesday

Most Unlikable Characters

Top 5 Wednesday

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads
This is going to be a very easy one for me because I have a list as long as my arm of protagonists or side characters I dislike but have written to be liked/loved. The tricky part is narrowing that list down!
Sirius Black (Harry Potter Series)
siriuscheers
This is the first person that comes to mind. I know a lot of people love him but I don’t really get why – he’s a sulky man child and I don’t believe he loves Harry for Harry I think he loves Harry because he reminds him of the mischief he got up to in school. I could go on and on about why I dislike Sirius but I don’t want to sound too rant-y
Prince Maxon (Selection Series)

Selection Series

I also really disliked Aspen too but I didn’t like him throughout with Maxon I liked him in the first book and then I don’t know what happened to him! I think his character turned into a bit of a player-y douche to justify 2 more books in the trilogy – Needless to say I fell out love with this series at The Elite and couldn’t even finish The One.
Etienne St Clair (Anna & the French Kiss)

anna and the french kiss

Not a fan of him as a person as he’s too “perfect” and not a fan of his actions throughout the book – I enjoyed the book but wish it didn’t have to be like some big love triangle where the guys torn between two girls and that’s seen as romantic!
Throne of Glass (Cheat answer 😦 sorry)

throne of glass

Celeana, Nehemia, Aedion, Sam, Manon but mostly Rowan! *SPOILERS FROM HERE IF YOU HAVEN’T READ HEIR OF FIRE* From the get go I hated Rowan and I really hate how we gloss over how he would beat her because she wound him up anyone who thinks this is justifiable is just wrong (imo) and no-one seems to think about this I haven’t heard anyone mention it at all in reviews. Don’t get me wrong I would love to punch Celeana sometimes (a lot of the time) BUT that is not the way to handle someone being annoying – the way this was brushed over I just don’t see myself ever carrying on with the series I just can’t do it, I tried QoS a couple of times but any time that man is mentioned I get so angry!
Greg Gaines (Me, Earl & the Dying Girl)

me earl and the dying

I feel like Greg has been written to be a loved character but I didn’t like him. I take issue with anyone trying so hard to be different to everyone because it’s so fake, if you’re different because you naturally are I have no issue with that but he was trying so hard to stand out (imo) that it ruined the book for me.
9 thoughts on “Most Unlikable Characters

  1. I so agree about Celaena and Rowan, I still quite like the series because of the other characters, but I never understood the awesomeness of Rowan’s character, and Celaena has become insufferable in the last book. I’m glad I’m not the only one who dislikes those beloved characters

    Like

    1. I don’t understand the hype we Rowan either – He would beat her just because she said something that wound him up and he carried on hitting her even though she didn’t fight back and I understand that it’s what she “wanted” and that’s why she wound him up but nothing with ever make that right or okay in my eyes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I completely agree. At first I did not have a problem with him, and his training methods, because although brutal, his culture was quite different, and he did not like the ‘amazing’ Celaena. Of course I never excuse the violence, but since she is an assassin, different rules apply. But when he was instantly made into this amazing caring love interest, I just cannot get it, it feels like he is two completely different characters at once.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! I’m interested in reading ACOTAR. My friend said it’s a bit different to TOG. I guess there’s hope for me and SJM. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

