Book Review

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

12th July to 20th July ~ Physical Copy/Audible ~ Link to Goodreads ~ #1 in the series

daughter of smoke

paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart

Synopsis:

The note was on vellum, pierced by the talons of the almost-crow that delivered it. Karou read the message. ‘He never says please’, she sighed, but she gathered up her things.
When Brimstone called, she always came.”
In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole.
Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

The Good:

Firstly I will start with a very small good thing but it is something I love immensely and that is short chapters! I can not stand books with lengthy chapters I think it really hinders with the pacing of the book and it really affects how often I’ll pick the book up to read. This book has short chapters that are to the point and with this it makes the pacing consistently fast and interesting. I love how it is simply written despite all the information it throws at you, it makes it easier for me personally to digest the information if it isn’t overly complicated.
I loved Karou as a character, quite often with female protagonist’s they are either Badass or sensitive but Karou seemed a very natural blend and felt like as well fleshed out as if she were a real person. I found myself really connecting with Karou, I was frustrated for her that she was kept so in the dark and I really wanted to be one of her friends or part of her “family” because I just think all the characters in this book were written so well! I loved the friendship between her and Zuzanna, female friendships is another fantastic quality in books I don’t think many YA books write about. You can tell they really have each others backs and that’s something I can really relate to.
The ending was absolutely fantastic! The pace sped up, everything was explained and at this point I had to switch to audiobook because I just wanted to find out what happened as quickly as possible πŸ™‚

The Bad:

I didn’t really enjoy the insta-love and I think it got explained a little towards the end but I’m just not a fan. That being said it was executed better than most books tend to write it but it just wasn’t done well enough for me to accept it. I also wasn’t very keen on Akiva as a character he seemed a bit of a wet blanket to me.

Overall:

This book was just what I needed during this book slump I’ve been in. I has initially really worried about reading it because there was a fair bit of hype around it but I’m so glad that I did. It was even better than I thought it was going to be! I will be carrying on with the series and have requested my local bookshop gets a copy in for me so hopefully I’ll be carrying on with the series this year.

5 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone

  1. I gave this book 4 stars as well, but after reading the following books, I started to appreciate this one more. There are certain things that to not work, especially the insta-love or all the explanations. However, when thinking about the series, I think the first book works in introducing the reader with the world, and the second book is where all the action begins, and is the reason for all the hype.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That is quite surprising since middle book syndrom is a common thing, but I have read quite a few series with incredible second books. Sometimes it takes the author a while to establish their fantasy world.

        Like

      2. Definately, I think for me personally I tend to fins first books spend the majority of their time setting things up while the second book gives you more insight and connection with the characters and I’m a big fan of character driven books so I think that’s why I love 2nd books (as a rule)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

