Book Review

Peter Pan – J.M Barrie

Book Review spoiler free

5th July to 28th July ~ Audiobook ~ Link to Goodreads

Peter Pan

paw heartpaw heart

I downloaded this from Audible after listening to Alice in Wonderland and loving it. I wasn’t really expecting to like this one as I’m not a big fan of the film but I’ll say I did like it a little more than I expected to.

Synopsis:

Peter Pan, the book based on J.M. Barrie’s famous play, is filled with unforgettable characters: Peter Pan, the boy who would not grow up; the fairy, Tinker Bell; the evil pirate, Captain Hook; and the three children–Wendy, John, and Michael–who fly off with Peter Pan to Neverland, where they meet Indians and pirates and a crocodile that ticks. Renowned children’s-book artist Michael Hague has brought the amazing adventures of Peter Pan to life. His beautiful illustrations capture the wild, seductive power of this classic book. This newly designed edition will be enjoyed by fans young and old alike.

The Good:

I quite liked the language of this book it was so whimsical and charming. This audio was narrated by Lilly Collins and at the risk of sounding like I live under a rock I don’t actually know who that is but she did a brilliant job. She really brought life to the characters and she probably made this a 2 star rather than a 1 star.

The Bad:

I didn’t like Peter as a character. That’s a very simple statement but if I started to elaborate it would probably turn into a lengthy rant, to be fair though it’s quite clear the author knew this too as he references it a lot throughout. Something I really didn’t like about the story was something would be said and then the narration would go forward to give something away. So it would say something about a character being caught and the narration would then say something that et you know the character would be okay because they are in the story later, I really can’t explain it much better than that but I didn’t like it anyway :). To be honest I can’t really put my finger on why this was such an un-enjoyable reading experience for me but I guess we all have those books that we don’t connect with and this is one of those.

Overall:

So overall this book isn’t bad I just didn’t enjoy it personally. However that being said I’m glad I gave it a go.

3 thoughts on “Peter Pan – J.M Barrie

  1. Is this THE classic Peter Pan? I’ve seen the movie a couple of times but only now realised that I’ve never actually read the book! And now I’m wondering if Lily Collins is the British celebrity Lily Collins… because that’d be quite interesting. 😛

    Like

    1. It is yeah. Its interesting to rea it to compare it to the disney film, it follows it pretty closely so if you like the film you’ll most likely enjoy the book. I’m not sure who Lily Collins is but she sounded british if that helps 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

