Top 5 Wednesday

Books You Feel Differently About

Top 5 Wednesday

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads
1) Wicked – Gregory Maguire
I read this back in my late teens and I absolutely loved it. I have tried to re-read it a couple of times and I’ve never been able to get back into it. I think the more I think about this book now it was good for where I was in life back then but I can’t I don’t think I would enjoy it as much now.
2) Alice In Wonderland – C.S Lewis
I first read this back in primary school when I was about 8 but didn’t really enjoy it. I re-read it through audible to other month and I thought it was fantastic! I think I got a lot more of the references and the points he was trying to make throughout the book.
3) A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Maas.
I read this when it first came out because I am Beauty & the Beast mad – I haven’t read many re-tellings but that’s because I think most would disappoint me. When I read this the first time I loved it. It was the first Maas book I read. However when I re-read it I had to knock a star or two off – by this point I think I’d read many other great books in the this genre and so for me it pinpointed how many things Maas does in her writing that I’ve come to loathe.
4)1989 – George Orwell
When I was reading this one I wasn’t really sure what I thought. I know I got a little frustrated in some places that it was moving a little slow for my liking but after I finished it and it had settled in my mind a little I loved it a lot more.
5) Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman
Don’t get me wrong when I read this book I enjoyed it but I think it’s another 1989 situation where it took a while for it to really resonate in me. I think about this one differently now because it’s not just a book I enjoyed it’s a book that has taught me lessons.
4 thoughts on “Books You Feel Differently About

Leave a Reply

