Book Review

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

Book Review spoiler free

29th July – 30th July ~ Physical Copy ~ Link to Goodreads

a monster calls

paw heartĀ paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart

Synopsis:

The monster showed up just after midnight. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his back garden, though, this monster is something different. Something ancient, something wild.

Overall:

I can see why some people might not enjoy this book. It could possibly come across like the protagonist is a little whiny and immature in places but I think most people who have lived with someone suffering with a serious illness or anyone who lost a loved one young will be able to relate to this book.

The Good:

I’m really not sure where to start with this review or how to make it even semi-coherent! I have seen this book floating around the book community and there has been a lot of hype surrounding it especially since it was revealed there would be a film adaptation. This being said I didn’t really know much about it and I went in with low expectations but a little worried because of the hype. I adored this book and I wish it was around 10 years ago when I was grieving. I loved Conor as a character I found him really relatable. When he talks about being invisible and wanting to be punished or at the very least acknowledge I could really relate to this, special allowances were made for me after I lost my Dad and I kind of wish that they hadn’t. Even though our situations are quite different, his mum is suffering with cancer throughout the book and my Dad passed away quite suddenly the struggles he is going through trying to deal with his situation are very similar to what I faced the week my dad was ill and after he passed away. The tone of the book is a little reminiscent of Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, it’s dark, charming and lyrical. The writing style is simple but I think this makes it that much more effective because it isn’t trying too hard it just explains how things are and how Conor is feeling. I adore the “Monster” and his stories, I love what he teaches Conor and I could see him so clearly in my mind it made the reading experience so much more charming. As I’ve just mentioned I adored the sub stories in this book and how it gets you to look at things from a different angle and how each stories moral helps in some way or another in dealing with his situation. I thought the family dynamic was great because it just showed how flawed people are even in the most difficult times, as much as we’d all like to believe people around us will be therefore us in dark times it’s not always the case and I think this is highlighted with Conors dad.

The Bad:

I don’t actually think I disliked anything in this book. I wasn’t overly keen on Conor all through the book, at some points he did annoy me a little but I forgive this because this made him incredibly realistic.

6 thoughts on “A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

  1. I have wanted to get a copy of this book since I saw you mention it. Sounds like quite a good read. Great review.

    I am so sorry about the loss of your dad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

