Book Review

Cursed Child – J.K Rowling

Book Review spoiler free

31st July to 2nd July ~ Physical Copy ~ Link to Goodreads

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

Synopsis:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Pre-Read thoughts:

I can’t say I was incredibly excited for this book. Truth be told I was a little nervous about it not only because I knew nothing about the plot but also because I don’t tend to like script books. I pre-ordered it however willing to give it ago.

The Good:

I enjoyed this addition to the series. I loved that, for me personally, the old characters we already know and love seemed very true to who they were in the original books. I loved the new characters especially Scorpius, I loved him from the start for his weird and awkward demeanour. I liked that he was a smart, nerdy type character and he was always the voice of reason. I also loved Albus Severus, he is very much like Harry when Harry was younger a little too angsty but it seemed more justified to me as it was living in his dad’s shadow. I think the friendship between Albus and Scorpius was really well written too I love how close they are and how they are there for each other. I liked Delphini too, I found her a little predictable but overall I think she was well written and I’m a sucker for a flawed character.

The Bad:

I found it to be quite predictable pretty much from the get go and so this ruined it for me. I also found a lot of the dialogue to be a little wooden in places and a little overly theatrical/fluffy in others. I can put this down to the fact it’s meant to be seen and not read but it did make it a bit of a let down for me. I think Rose should have been in it a little more just because when she comes back in at the end it feels really out of place. (Mild spoilers, skip to conclusion if you have not read) Plot-wise I  think this book wasn’t very strong. I feel like they went back in time one too many times just to draw it out a little. I felt like some of the circumstances of the time travelling were so over exaggerated that it was almost comical which I don’t think it was going for.

The Conclusion:

Overall I think because I went into this with low expectations I enjoyed it a lot but I can see why others might dislike it. I think the characters were great and well fleshed out for such a short book but the plot for me let it down a little.

paw heart paw heart paw heart  paw heart half

One thought on “Cursed Child – J.K Rowling

Leave a Reply

