Read-a-thon

Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon Sign Up/TBR

pokemon

The Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon is a 3 weeks long reading challenge based on the Kanto’s Indigo League created by the awesome Read At Midnight check out her original post for the extra challenges/points system/sign up sheet etc. The read-a-thon runs from Sunday 14th August to Sunday 4th September.

I was unsure if I’d take part in this as 8 books in 3 weeks seemed a little over ambitious to me however it seems you can use books to tick off duplicate challenges. That being said I have tried to put 8 different books on my TBR and hope I’ll be able to do this by reading in different formats (3 Mangas, 1 Audio-book, 1 Kindle book & 3 physical books).

The Challenges:

Pewter Gym: First Book in a Series
One Peice (Volume 1) by Eiichiro Oda (manga)
This is my older brothers favourite manga and I have owned the first volume for well over a year now and since I haven’t read a manga in many months it will be a nice way to break up the novels.

Cerulean City: A Book That Might Make You Cry
All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (Audio-Book)
Even though I am a fan of WW2 novels I have attempted this one a few times in the past and got bored around 100-150pages in. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get through this one a little easier if I listen to it.

Vermillion City: Read a Book with Thunderous Hype
The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater (physical)
This is another one I’ve owned for a while but I’ve been holding back on because of the hype. If I can’t get round to this one or I don’t enjoy it I will cover this with One Piece but I think I’ll enjoy this one.

Celadon City: A Book That Focuses on Diversity
We Awaken – Calista Lynne (Kindle)
This is a book I came across through Twitter I’m not 100% sure on the plot etc but I do believe 2 of the characters are Asexual so I’m very interested to see how this book handles that topic.

Fuschia City: A Book With A Great Romance
Sailor Moon Volume 5 by Naoko Takeuchi (manga)
Sailor Moon + Tuxedo Mask need I say anymore! I read the first 4 volumes a year a go and have been meaning to get around to this one for a while now so this is the perfect opportunity.

Saffron City: Read a book with Fantasy or Supernatural Elements
Soul Eater by Atsushi Ohkubo (manga)
Another one I have owned for about a year that I haven’t read yet. I believe this has elements of fantasy in it.

Cinnabar Gym: A Book with a Red Cover
Option 1: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (physical)
Option 2: A Gathering of Shadows by V.E Schwab.
I didn’t really like Cinder but have heard Scarlet is better so I’m tempted to give this one a try because it’s also very simply written. If I can’t get into it or I change my mind I will be picking up A Gathering of Shadows but this one might be tricky as the writing is a little more complex and it’s a bit chunkier.

Viridian Gym: A Book with a Post-Apocalypic Setting
Once Upon A Time: Red’s Untold Tale by Wendy Toliver
I am really stretching the rules on this particular challenge. I am using this read-a-thon to make a dent in the books I own that still need to be read and I don’t have any that are post-apocalyptic. My reasoning behind choosing this book is because it closely resembles the challenge out of all the books I own. The show Once Upon A Time is based in Storybrooke which was “created” when the Enchanted Forest/surrounding kingdom was destroyed and is where all the fairytale characters went at that time. I’m saying this counts 🙂

Will you be joining in?
Which Books would you choose for the challenges?

3 thoughts on “Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon Sign Up/TBR

  1. Maybe I will also try this one… Since it starts while I’m on vacation. However its also ARC august so I’m trying to get those done too! haha ambitious August is what I should call it. Did you read A Court of Thorns and Roses yet? It has a red cover…

    Like

Leave a Reply

