Book Review

Grief is the thing with Feathers by Max Porter

Book Review spoiler free

23rd August to 25th  August ~ Physical Copy ~ Link to Goodreads

25334576

Synopsis:

In a London flat, two young boys face the unbearable sadness of their mother’s sudden death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar and scruffy romantic, imagines a future of well-meaning visitors and emptiness.
In this moment of despair they are visited by Crow – antagonist, trickster, healer, babysitter. This self-described sentimental bird is attracted to the grieving family and threatens to stay until they no longer need him. As weeks turn to months and physical pain of loss gives way to memories, this little unit of three begin to heal.
In this extraordinary debut – part novella, part polyphonic fable, part essay on grief, Max Porter’s compassion and bravura style combine to dazzling effect. Full of unexpected humour and profound emotional truth, Grief is the Thing with Feathers marks the arrival of a thrilling new talent.

Pre-read Thoughts:

I came across this book after seeing it in Reads & Daydreams August Wrap Up (part 1) and it sounded really interesting.

Overall:

This review will be a little different as I won’t be doing a good and bad section just the overall section. I will start by saying that I feel like this book was just not for me personally. I think that this book would be brilliant for people who love poetry (although it isn’t all poetry) and for people who are good at seeing the beauty in themes and hidden meanings but I think I just surface read this book. In taking it as it was I found it really confusing and a little frustrating to read. I do sometimes wish I was able to see what others do when it comes to this style of book but the more I try the more frustrated I get with myself. I unfortunately can’t really tell you what I liked or didn’t like because I really didn’t understand it so this review is probably incredibly unhelpful! I will say if you are subscribed to Reads & Daydreams and your tastes are very similar to hers you will probably like this or at least appreciate this but it’s not a book for everyone.

paw heart

5 thoughts on “Grief is the thing with Feathers by Max Porter

Leave a Reply

