Book Review

Manga Mini Review #1

Book Review spoiler free

Sailor Moon Volume 5 by Naoko Takeuchi 

paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart

 

 

Artwork: I loved the artwork in this volume. I’ve been a big fan of the art style throughout the series so far it’s super cute and quite detailed.

Plot/Characters: I loved the plot!! I haven’t read a Sailor Moon manga in a bout a year so I don’t know whether this helped but it felt really nostalgic to read about all the characters I know and love! I also really enjoyed the plot, I seem to remember not being overly thrilled with the plot of Volume 4 but this one really stepped it up a notch!

Overall: I really recommend this series to anyone who likes cute, light reads about kickass females who are also a little clumsy (the characters are really well rounded. I think anyone who used to watch the show would love to read these volumes or anyone who hasn’t but is looking to get into manga this is a super fun and interesting place to start.

One Piece Volume 1 by Eiichiro Oda

paw heartpaw heartpaw heart

paw heart half

Artwork: The artwork in this series is pretty simple which I’ve seen other people aren’t happy about but for me personally I don’t really mind in this case because it seems to match the book quite well.

Plot/Characters: I enjoyed this first volume and I’m interested enough to carry on. I loved the sense of humour and the daftness of the characters. I think this is going to be a good series for me to pick up as and when I don’t have a lot of time/energy to focus on novels and just want something quick and easy.

Overall: I was not expecting to love this book, I know my older brother is a big fan but it just looked a little too weird from what I’d seen so I thought it would be tricky to follow. I was really pleasantly surprised, the only reason it didn’t get a higher rating is because I feel like it’s going to get a lot better.

Soul Eater by Atsushi Ahkubo

Artwork: Simple but vulgar. Seems to be incredibly simple drawings and only really goes into detail when it comes to the women.

Plot/Characters: If I could sum this up in one word it would be forgettable. It was hard for me to find a plot when I was just confronted with pictures of big breasted women in no clothes or semi clothed & pictures of men groping or oggling these women. The 2 main guys are arrogant, childish and ridiculous the 5 main girls are objectified so much through the book I was frustrated and pretty darn mad by the time I finished the volume.

Overall: I can’t remember who recommended this to me at the beginning of last year but I really doubt it was anyone who actually knows me personally. I was disgusted by this thinly veiled sexist tripe! I will not even give this a star rating!

One thought on “Manga Mini Review #1

Leave a Reply

