Discussion

Writing Diversley

Hey All,

As some of you may know I am a writer and I’ve been working on a novel for a few months now. One of the 3 main characters of this novel is a MOC (Man of colour) and with all the controversy surrounding diverse books/writing at the moment I would love your help!

I am very conscious of the fact that as a white female this is not a perspective that I have any experience of and I do not want to offend anyone! So any and all feedback from this post would be very much appreciated!

When reading about POC (People of Colour) what are some of your pet peeves?

What are some of the things you love to see?

Are there any descriptions / mannerisms / dialogue I should avoid (or include)?

I do not want to give any of the plot away as it is still only in the first draft stage but so far I feel like I have handled this in a sensitive way – feedback and research is obviously important to make sure I get it right though.

Please comment below with any thoughts you have about this subject. If you feel more comfortable doing it privately or you have lots to say please feel free to email me on kirstyandthecatread@gmail.com! Finally – I know I don’t usually ask – please could you share this on twitter with any hashtags you think appropriate the more shares the more likely I am to get this 100% right.

6 thoughts on “Writing Diversley

  1. Obviously I do not have any insight since I am also a white female, however I think the best thing you could do would be to find a MOC to collaborate with during the entire writing process and even have that person BETA read your work. I will be sure to share!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What color? That makes a difference, as Black men are viewed/portrayed differently than, say, Latino or Arab, etc. Regardless, my advice, if you are not yet at the place of using a reader, would be to utilize the freely available resources that are at hand. Twitter tags, for one–#ownvoices or other tags where discussions go on. If your MOC is Black, #QueenSugar would be a good one to scroll through to get an idea of excellent representation. Watching the show, too.

    Of course, reading #ownvoices books is an excellent way to do initial research.

    When it comes to *effectively* portraying someone outside your experience (lots of horrid, ineffective portrayals out there,) I really don’t think there is any way to avoid doing the work, even if it’s a minor character.

    Best of luck with your writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

