Book Review

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

Book Review spoiler free

31st August to 18th September ~ Physical & Audio ~ #1 in the Six of Crows Duology ~ Link to Goodreads

Six crows

Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Pre-read Thoughts:

This has been on my TBR since before it was released and has been on my physical year for many many months. I was not a massive fan of the Grisha Trilogy, I only read the first 2 books and I just wasn’t sold. I did however really love the world that had been built and so I was really looking forward to this book. It took so long to pick up because I was so nervous that it wouldn’t live up to the hype surrounding it.

The Good:

WOW! It is so hard to form the words for this review. I am going between “JEEEZE why didn’t I pick this up sooner it’s so freaking awesome!” and “Thank goodness I left it this long because I would not have been able to hold my sh*t together waiting for the next book!”

It is well known that I love a good anti-villain so give me 6 and you’ve got one extremely happy girlie dancing around in glee! I think it shows immense talent to be able to pull off 6 outcast anti-heroes in a multi-perspective book and have them still be distinguishable between each other. All the main characters were perfectly realised, distinct in their own way with brilliant individual traits that made them all equally lovable in their own ways. I say equally lovable but if I had to pick I would say that Kaz Brekker and Inej were my favourites. Kaz is the kind of character with the dark back story and personality depth I adore. He had layer upon layer and I really enjoyed unravelling more and more about him as the book went on! Inej is one hell of a BAMF! Unlike most other female protagonists we don’t just hear the author describe her as fierce and ferocious we actually see it. At the same time though she isn’t made out to be so perfect that she’s invincible their are moments in the book where she is flawed and that show that even though she is only human and can make mistakes or take her eye off the ball once in a while. What I loved the most about Inej was that I found her completely relatable she is a tough cookie with a fierce exterior but she is a brilliant friend, she keeps a cool head when it counts and she keeps as true as she can to her beliefs and morals. I liked the relationship between Matthias and Nina and how it slowly developed throughout the book and revealed their background with each other and I also adored the relationship between Jesper and Wylan the way they rubbed each other up the wrong way but how they slowly came to rely on each other. As a group the dynamic was fantastic with lots of brilliant sass and banter!

The plot was so intricate and complicated but it never felt like a chore trying to keep up with where things were. It flowed fantastically well and I feel like some of the flow issues I had with the Grisha trilogy have been learned from in this book. Where some fantasy books leave most of the action for the end this book packed a punch throughout and I found myself at the edge of my seat constantly. It feels like such a long time before I have read a book like this that had my heart racing and consumed me completely!

Also I would just like to mention the cover! I may sound a little thick here but for the longest time while it was sat on my self I didn’t really notice it that much. When I started reading the book and I saw the cover a lot more however I began to see obviously the crow but also the building silhouettes at the bottom – incredibly clever and effective art work!

The Bad:

This is just me personally and it isn’t really a negative but because of my dyslexia I struggled a fair bit with some of the names of people and places throughout the book. With my dyslexia it can be tricky enough reading complex plots without the added tricky-ness of places and peoples names. This was so much better for me when I switched to audio as my mind didn’t have to keep stopping and sounding things out and wondering if I was getting it right.

Overall:

Do not the length of time it took my to read this book fool you – I really did love it and I was engrossed! The reason it took so long is because I’m still partly in a slump but I could not let that get in the way. I can not wait to see where the next book takes us and even though I only have 9 days to wait it feels like a life time!

What rating did you give Six of Crows?

If you read this before me how on earth have you coped with the wait?

What do you think we’ll see from Crooked Kingdoms?

paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart

19 thoughts on “Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

  1. I’ve just read this and I can’t get over how much I love this book. I’m ready to read it again. Easily a five star book for me. I’m so glad you loved it, too. I cannot WAIT for Crooked Kingdoms. I pre-ordered it a few weeks ago and the days can’t go by fast enough. 8 more days! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

