Discussion

I want to see more: Mid-twenties

I’m going to start this by saying I probably haven’t read a great many books with protagonists in their mid-twenties but what I have read doesn’t seem to re-represent people in their mid-twenties well enough.

I have many things I would love to see more of like the fact peer doesn’t end after high school or how we’re expected to have our sh*t together but most of us are still struggling or just coasting because we’ve never been taught how to have it together! Mostly though I was thinking back to when I first moved out of my parent’s house and I was inspired to do this post. As a big reader I assumed it would be as wonderful as it is in all the books; I’d get a modern little flat in a nice area maybe get myself a cute little pet to keep me company, I’d have an epic job and my eyebrows would always be on point just like I’d read in so many books. Boy was I mislead! At the time moving out was the best thing for me and I couldn’t have been happier but I was not expecting it to be quite as hard as it was. Learning to budget, making sure we have food in the house, wondering how I’m going to find money for a wedding or children when I’ve not even worked out all my bills yet – this is the side of growing up that doesn’t seem to be shown in the media.

Since I read books a lot more than I watch TV, or films it would have been nice to have seen this side in the books I was reading back then! Everything I read seems to gloss over how emotionally crippling it can be to be in that situation let alone the added peer pressure of everyone around you getting engaged, having children of buying their own houses! It is definitely not all gossipy coffee mornings and amazing nights out every week!

I would love to see more novels show this grittier side of adulthood, it might not be the most fun and glamorous of topics but since this is a stage everyone has to go through and since I’m seeing a lot on social media about people feeling the same as me it could help loads of younger people understand that even though it’s great to be responsible for yourself it’s also really scary especially at first! Even if you have a fantastic support network you are still pretty much out there on your own without a safety net!

I know this post might sound a little negative, so I want to end by saying that it might take time to get yourself sorted and I’m still part way through the journey but I’m hopeful that it will all work itself out in the end!

What do you want to see more of when it comes to protagonists in their mid twenties?

Which books would you recommend to me based on this post?

4 thoughts on “I want to see more: Mid-twenties

  1. This is perfect Kirsty, not negative at all! I’m 20 and as much as I adore and still feel I relate to YA (e.g totally Cath from Fangirl eee!) I would love to read novels with protagonists juggling their twenties. I’d perhaps like friendships to be depicted; how people you thought were there to stay aren’t always and people change….and that’s okay. Love the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I was a bit worried I started to get ranty but glad to see I’m not the only one. I totally agree more books should tackle friendships too theres just so much that’s never explained and I often wonder if we’d all be suffering or feeling lost if some of this was shown in various media outlets!

      Like

  2. I agree! I would also like to see more books that ACCURATLY depict parenting… Trust me, it is definitely not all sunshine and smiles. Most of the time I am pretty sure I am screwing up my kids’ lives… but from talking with other parents, they feel the same way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

