Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W – 21st September

Top 5 Wednesday
Topic – Characters you wouldn’t want to trade places with
I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads
This topic didn’t take much thought to be fair as there are so many characters I’d rather just read about than trade places with. I have tried to keep my answers really varied to challenge myself a little – If anything takes your interest click the book title and it will zoom you through to the goodreads page.
I’m pretty sure she will make a fair few peoples list but I would not last a milisecond in the hunger games. The chances are I would blow up on the spot within the first few moments and failing this I just can’t run fast enough to avoid arrows or daggers or tripping over my own feet 🙂
2. Winston Smith (1984 – George Orwell)
I mean in a lot of ways many of us live a very similar kind of life to what is described in 1984 just not as extreme. I would hate to be in Winston’s shoes knowing what he knows (or assuming what he assumes) and being so powerless and lonely, unable to really confide in anyone.
the impact this book has had on me in the past 10 years has been immense. When it comes to books/movies/TV shows etc it takes a hell of a lot to make me cry but thinking about how real Celie’s story was for so many people always makes me well up and I do tend to cry a little whenever I re-read it.
4. Mark Watney (The Martian – Andy Weir)
Again I’d be surprised if this doesn’t make a few people’s lists. Imagine being stranded on Mars with little to no hope…I think this pick is fairly self explanitory!
This is a bit of a cheat answer as he is not a character in the traditional sense this book is a true account of his life and how he managed to escape North Korea. I’m currently reading this book but so far what I have read has led me to two conclusions 1) he is someone to admire and respect 2) I don’t think I could possibly have gone through what he went through and found the strength to write about it.
4 thoughts on “#T5W – 21st September

Leave a Reply

