Book Review

Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur

Book Review spoiler free

25th September (started & finished) ~ Physical Copy ~ Link to Goodreads

milk-and-honey

Synopsis:

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity.

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

Pre-read Thoughts:

I’ll admit I didn’t really know much about this before I picked it up. I’d seen a few people talk about it on booktube and I keep trying to get into poetry (unsuccessfully) so I thought I’d give it a try. I was very pleasantly surprised.

The Good:

What this book lacked in length it more than made it for with it’s powerful messages! I was not expecting to love this book as I’ve not been able to get into poetry before but this was so easy to read and hit home so much that it very quickly won me over. This book is split into 4 sections “The Hurting” which provides poetry about her childhood “The Loving” which talks about what I assume is her first serious relationship “The breaking” which goes through the split of this relationship and “The Healing” which was my favourite part. I think this was my favourite part because it really stressed the importance of self love and learning from the previous stages to help you become a more grounded and happy person. A lot of this book really resonated with me but here are two quotes that really hit home for me:

You are in the habit of co-depending on people to make up for what you think you lack. Who tricked you into believing another person was meant to complete you when the most they can do is complement you.

And

I don’t know why I split myself open for others knowing sewing myself up hurts this much afterward

The first quote reminds me very much of the sort of things my mum would tell me growing up as I have always been too much of a people pleaser and someone who seems to need other’s approval to feel more whole. I think the second quote probably really highlights what I’ve just mentioned. I’m lucky in the sense that a lot of the messages throughout the healing section of this book are things my mum has always tried to teach me to become a healthy minded woman. I do realise others aren’t this lucky and therefore everyone should pick this book up. I think that this book is so important to give to other people most specifically women to help them become the best versions of themselves.

I should probably mention that this is not suitable for people under 18 years of age as some of the topics are quite graphic and some of pictures are also a little graphic.

The Bad:

I don’t have anything negative to say about this book if I was being incredibly nit picky I would say I wasn’t expecting it to be graphic so I was a little embarrassed when I started reading in my usual starbucks and the second page had a rather graphic sketch on it/

Overall:

Amazing, powerful & unapologeticly real! I can’t gush about this book enough, I really do recommend this book to anyone and everyone who has seen it about or has read the synopsis and thinks this might be of interest to them, this was such a pleasant surprise for me.

paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart

Social Media threads/updates:

milk-and-honey-me-and-sooty

7 thoughts on “Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur

    1. I am usually the same I tend to find poetry a little pretentious and I don’t like the type of poetry that’s full of metaphors and similies I prefer people to just say what they mean and this collection does that in a very real sometimes raw way which I loved

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

