Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W – 05/10/2016

Topic: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish
I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads
The books I’ve picked perhaps didn’t take me much longer than normal to finish but felt like I was reading forever and a day. If you are interested in any books I mention click their titles to go through to the Goodreads page.
1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone – Laini Taylor

I think this one did actually take me a long while to finish. I enjoyed reading it when I did pick it up but I just didn’t really have a big urge to pick it up in my spare time. I really loved the book when I finished it but upon reflection I probably won’t finish the series as there are so many other books I’m excited for.

2.  The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I believe this is the 4th book in the Sherlock Holmes Series. I have read the first 3 before this one but this one was the biggest struggle for me! I will continue to watch the show but I don’t think I’ll continue with the books – they just aren’t gripping me like they were a few years back.

3. 1984 – George Orwell

I did not appreciate or love this book until after I finished it (it’s definitely a sneeker-upper). Getting through this book felt like walking through a swimming pool of porridge! It was quite slow and a bit of a slog. I do recommend it though and persevering.

4. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

This (for me) was a classic case of don’t judge a book by it’s cover – I adore the cover it is stunning but for me it was just a little too predictable and a little too similar to a lot of other YA books out there.

5. The Raven Boys – Maggie Steifvater

Okay please don’t throw rocks at me but I didn’t like The Raven Boys. I found myself wanting the book to get to some kind of point most the time and then when it did get to the point the next chapter completely ignored that and I was so angry when I finished it because I could’ve spent my time on another book 😦

What books made your list?

drawing1

2 thoughts on “#T5W – 05/10/2016

Leave a Reply

