Discussion

Second the Best

Discussion

“First the worst, Second the best, Third’s the one with the hairy chest.” If you grew up in the UK in the 90’s you possibly heard this thrown around the playground and although it was seen as true back then it doesn’t seem to be an opinion shared when it comes to second books in a series.

I have recently seen the term “Second book slump syndrome” which in the context is basically a term people use when they don’t like a second book in a series as much as they thought they would/expected to. I’m hoping I’m not the only one, and I’m sure I’m not, but I personally love second books!

When it comes to first books they are often used to give you an outline of the world, it starts building a plot and gives you the skeleton of the characters personalities. For me seconds books are brilliant because you now know the world, you know the characters and you have a general idea where the plot might be going. This for me helps me sit down and relax with the book because I’m not trying so hard to figure out how things are working.

When I have really enjoyed a first book second books tend to feel like visiting an old friend too and I love that feeling. That’s not really a feeling you get with first books because you can’t always be sure until you’ve finished it that it’s something you love.

I know this is only a short post but I just wanted to celebrate for all the second books in series out there! May you rock on forever!

Do you enjoy Second books?

Or do you feel like they can be a little slumpy?

4 thoughts on “Second the Best

  1. I tend to shy away from series as I am one of those people who is usually disappointed with the second book, HOWEVER this is not always the case. The only example I can think of where I liked the second book just as much, or more, than the first would be the second book in The Raven Cycle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

