Book Review

Blood for Blood – Ryan Graudin

Book Review spoiler free

1st October to 15th October – Physical Copy – 2nd Book (Duology) – Link to Goodreads

blood-for-blood

*** This review will be spoiler free for Blood for Blood but will probably contain spoilers for the first book Wolf by Wolf. If you haven’t read Wolf by Wolf and you’re wanting to please don’t carry on with this post – also what are you waiting for go pick it up today and then pre-order this one!***

Synopsis:

The action-packed, thrilling sequel to Ryan Graudin’s Wolf by Wolf.
There would be blood. Blood for blood. Blood to pay. An entire world of it.
For the resistance in 1950s Germany, the war may be over, but the fight has just begun.
Death camp survivor Yael, who has the power to skinshift, is on the run: the world has just seen her shoot and kill Hitler. But the truth of what happened is far more complicated, and its consequences are deadly. Yael and her unlikely comrades dive into enemy territory to try to turn the tide against the New Order, and there is no alternative but to see their mission through to the end, whatever the cost.
But dark secrets reveal dark truths, and one question hangs over them all: how far can you go for the ones you love?
This gripping, thought-provoking sequel to Wolf by Wolf will grab readers by the throat with its cinematic writing, fast-paced action, and relentless twists.

Pre-Read Thoughts:

I have been so unbelievably excited for this sequel since I finished Wolf by Wolf and so I was absolutely over the moon when I went to my local Waterstone’s and they had a copy on the shelves a month early!! I was not disappointing, so grab yourself a cuppa tea and a couple of biscuits because this will be a long gushy review :).

The Good:

The prologue for this book pin points a single day in history and tells you what each of the three protagonists were doing on that particular day, this happens a few other times throughout the book. I loved these little snippets as it really helped give more layers and depth to Yael, Luka & Felix. After the prologue the book jumps right into where Wolf by Wolf left off. I loved this as it made the book fast paced from the first page. This being said though I would recommend re-reading Wolf by Wolf if it has been a while or at the least checking out online re-caps. It isn’t hard to keep up if it has been a while between the first book and this one but I find it really helps the flow of reading if I’ve checked the re-caps. This series is as much character focused as it is plot focused. I would like to give Ryan Graudin a massive round of applause for getting the balance right between developing her characters immensely while keeping them true to themselves and their moral compasses.

Yael – I adored Yael in the first book but I loved her so much more in this sequel. In the first book she is so concerned in keeping up a facade and pretending to be Adele Wolfe and so there’s a little of her true self that she always seems to be holding back. In this book she no longer has to pretend and you get to see her how she truly is, a scared young girl trying to find her place. She is worrying not only about keeping herself alive but also 2 others and I think you see even more of her BAMF side! She is calm, collected and calculating even in the face of obstacles and the most difficult situations; she is everything you want a main character to be. She is flawed in the fact she is a little too trusting but when you see this side of her it is very true to her character.

Luka – I adore Luka! He reminds me so much of myself and my younger brother, we also tend to crack jokes and use sarcasm in awkward/tense situations to try & break the ice. I think I can also relate to him because I too desperately seek approval. I think of the 3 main characters in the series I felt the biggest connection with Luka. I also feel like of the 3 of them he goes through the biggest journey not only in this book but from the very beginning of the first book.

Felix – I liked Felix but of the main 3 he was my least favourite. I didn’t really feel connected to him but I think that’s because of the decisions he makes. I can understand why he does the things he does and he’s a very well fleshed out character who like the others is always true to himself throughout. I adore his loyalty to his family and I really felt for him throughout the book.

Plot – I really can’t say very much about the plot because I really don’t want to spoil anything. What I will say is that this book is constantly twisting and taking you in a completely new direction. We as the reader are constantly getting new bits of information but it’s never difficult to follow. When you think you’re getting to the bottom of one layer you find another and I really loved this. This is really a brilliant survival story.

The Bad:

I really can’t class these following points as “Bad” and they should actually be a sign of how great the book is because it’s me wanting more! I personally would have liked a little more information about what was going on in the rest of the world after Yael shot “Hitler” at the end of Wolf by Wolf. We got a little of the rebels rising up but for me I would have liked slightly more. I also would have liked to have seen Adele Wolfe a little more in the book and saw how she was coping with everything. I think I saw on Ryan’s twitter that people who have pre-ordered a copy of Blood for Blood will get a mini-story about Adele’s experience but because this particular copy wasn’t a pre-order it didn’t have this so I’m hoping she makes that available on kindle like Iron to Iron.

Overall: 

This book was heart-racing, heart-breaking & heart-warming and will leave you in a ball of pure emotion on the floor wondering “Why”. But let me assure you it is completely worth it!

Will you be reading Blood for Blood?
What are you expecting from this conclusion?

Click Here for my Twitter Thread/My Reading Experience

paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart

 

 

5 thoughts on “Blood for Blood – Ryan Graudin

Leave a Reply

