NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo 2016 – Prep

As some of you will know I love to write! I took part in NaNoWriMo last year for the first time but because I didn’t decide until October 31st I was taking part and because I changed my mind on the project 6 days in it was a total disaster.

It seems I have gone from one extreme to another this year as I have a very strong idea for what I will be working on come November 1st :). I actually have 2 ideas.

The first book I will be working on and the book that will take priority in November is one I have been planning since June. It will be a very personal, raw and real account of my struggles with Anxiety this past year. It will be told in scenes, poetry & anecdotes. My hopes for this book is to get it out there so that at least one person reading it won’t feel so alone.

The way I have planned this book is quite unorthodox. Basically whenever I have thought of a scene, remembered an anecdote or thought of the start of a poem I have emailed it to myself and filed them away. This has been so helpful for me because I always have my phone on me so it’s quick and easy to send an email. I’m really excited about the topics I have in my inbox ready to get cracking with.

I don’t really anticipate this book being as long as a novel therefore I have also got a second project I will start working on IF I finish my first. I don’t want to give anything away about the plot but the planning process has been really fun. I have had this idea for almost a year now and I have been planning it for almost as long. When I decided to keep this idea aside for NaNoWriMo I started to go a bit deeper with my planning. I have built a world, 2 very well fleshed out characters and a sturdy fast paced plot. 

I am super excited for both projects for different reasons and I really hope I fair a lot better than last year. I have even booked the first 2 days of November off work to get a head start 🙂

Are you participating?

How has your planning gone?

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 – Prep

  1. Good luck with your writing!

    I am also taking part in NaNoWriMo. I almost took part last year but decided not to since my university studies did take up a lot of time. This year however I have an idea and now I just have to actually build my story around it. It is going to be so interesting and such a journey into understanding yourself. I am looking forward to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay for organization! I am a planner too. I am not participating in NaNoWriMo, as I am not a writer, but I wish you all the best in November while you are working on your project(s).

    “The first book I will be working on and the book that will take priority in November is one I have been planning since June. It will be a very personal, raw and real account of my struggles with Anxiety this past year. It will be told in scenes, poetry & anecdotes. My hopes for this book is to get it out there so that at least one person reading it won’t feel so alone.”

    This sounds so personal and raw. Good for you for being brave enough to put yourself out there, especially since your goal is to help others. I really admire this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks chum! I just think that I felt so comforted and less alone when I read “Under Rose-Tinted Skies” by Louise Gornall this morning (which is a novel about agrophobia) but after looking on good reads for more books about Anxiety (generalised not specific) I couldn’t find anything so wah-lah inspiration hit!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

