Book Review

Hopeless – Colleen Hoover

Book Review spoiler free

16th October to 25th October – Audio – Link to Goodreads

hopeless

Synopsis:

Sky Davis is starting sixth form having always been home-schooled, and wants to keep a low profile. But then she runs into Dean Holder – messy brown hair, smouldering blue eyes, and a temper straight out of Fight Club, someone who Sky is determined to avoid.
There is something about Holder that sparks memories of Sky’s troubled past, those which she would rather stay buried. Little does she know that the mysterious Dean Holder is harbouring secrets of his own.
When the truth unravels, Sky must piece her life back together and learn to trust again. Only by facing the revelations together can the two of them begin to heal their emotional scars and find a way to live without boundaries.

Pre-read thoughts:

I hear nothing but amazing things about Colleen Hoovers books and so I was really excited when I unwrapped it in my October TBR Unwrapping!

The Good:

I’m not going to lie or beat around the bush I was not a fan of this book. I liked the narrator I thought they were pretty good for this audio but I’m afraid my list pretty much ends there.

The Bad:

Plot – So cliche, so predictable and so annoying. Maybe I went into this with higher expectations than normal because of how much her writing is hyped and I was expecting something a little more but I was so incredibly let down. This for me personally was just bland. The “twist” at the end is foreshadowed so poorly that you can see it coming pretty much from the beginning. The second “twist” is also done the same way so this is the biggest reason the book fell flat for me. I think the subject matter that was the core of this book was handled pretty poorly too. It felt like the Sky was given this big revelation and then within two days all is done and dusted and wrapped up in a neat little package. Because this subject matter hits a little too close to home for me I really did not appreciate the execution in this book; trauma like that doesn’t heal itself with a click of the fingers.

Sky – I could not really connect to Sky. In the beginning she seemed to be cold and stand-offish just for the sake of it. Some of this might be explained away in later chapters but as she has no memory of it I find it hard to believe, it just didn’t click with me. Also it made it that bit more unbelievable for me as the reader when she did a total 180 for holder and pretty much fell instantly in love with him! The way she lets him treat her and the relationship they have I find so incredibly problematic I was either rolling my eyes or muttering “Really!?” under my breath. I don’t like women to be written as dependent on men and only able to get their way if they are dressed provocatively or being sexual – it’s 2016 people we women are not objects!

Holder – I am going to try and condense this down as much as I can because in reality this could be pages of ranting. From the very moment we are introduced to Holder he is possesive, over-powering and brooding and I think he was written really badly. I am not one of these girls who likes reading about “Bad boys” or guys who treat you like you are a delicate flower that can’t possibly do anything but stand there and look pretty and that was how he came across with his actions. Because of this is was even more frustrating when he was talking like he was a nice guy, his words just didn’t match up with his actions it was almost like the writer was writing two characters in one body and the two characters were fighting over who was going to provide the most annoying trait!

Overall:

This book unfortunately wasn’t for me. This I think was mainly down to the characters being so contradictory, we are told they are one way by the writer but they act so different to this. The plot was predictable and felt like deja vu. I might pick up another Colleen Hoover book just to see if this one was a dud but I’m not in a rush!

Do you agree?

If you disagree what did you enjoy about the book?

What is your favorite Colleen Hoover book?

paw heart

 

7 thoughts on “Hopeless – Colleen Hoover

  1. I haven’t read this Colleen Hoover book but I read slammed and I agree I could not connect to the characters and the plot seemed predictable. However she has such a big following I figure I’m in the minority. 🙂 Great Review

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I might read the blurb for slammed. I can imagine that most of her books have a similar sort of premise or at least have the same downfalls (or what I consider downfalls) so I’m really not sure if I should give another one ago.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

