Book Review

Smoke & Mirrors – Neil Gaiman

Book Review spoiler free

26th September to 28th October ~ Physical Copy ~ Goodreads Link

smoke-miror

Synopsis:

This definitive collection of Neil Gaiman’s short fiction will haunt your imagination and move you to the very depths of your soul.
An elderly widow finds the Holy Grail beneath an old fur coat. A stray cat fights and refights a terrible nightly battle to protect his unwary adoptive family from unimaginable evil. A young couple receives a wedding gift that reveals a chilling alternative history of their marriage. These tales and much more await in this extraordinary book, revealing one of our most gifted storytellers at the height of his powers.

Pre-Read Thoughts:

I am a massive fan of Neil Gaiman. I’ve had this on my shelf for over a year now and just keep passing by it so I was excited when I picked it last month in my October Unwrapping TBR

The Good:

There we some great little gems in this collection. I found myself chuckling at Gaiman’s classic British wit. There is a hint of Gaiman’s trademark whimsical atmospheric style throughout the collection too.

The Bad:

Unfortunately, and this is going to feel like treason for me, I didn’t love this book :(. I had to DNF a couple of the short stories and more than half of the others left me feeling a little underwhelmed and dare I say bored. Just typing this about a Gaiman book makes me feel like a traitor. Gaiman is genuinely my favourite author and I have such lovely nostalgic thoughts whenever I pick up his books but I think this fell short as each story is too short to build up much of an atmosphere or inject enough wit and whimsy into it. The reason I love his style so much is because I can get completely lost in the worlds he builds and the scenes he describes and these short stories, for me personally, didn’t quite have enough.

Overall:

You can tell it is a Gaiman book but it is just the bare bones of a Gaiman book. I was a little bored and quite underwhelmed and I think that it’s just because they weren’t long enough to flesh out.

                                                  paw heartpaw heart

Have you read this book?

What compilation of short stories do you recommend?

4 thoughts on “Smoke & Mirrors – Neil Gaiman

  1. I almost never read short stories. The last one I read was the secret life of Walter Mitty which I loved. I also read a bunch of Stephen King short stories which may be good for this time of the year. However in general, I get too sucked into a book and I find myself disappointed that short stories are in fact – so short.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Unfortunately, and this is going to feel like treason for me, I didn’t love this book. I had to DNF a couple of the short stories and more than half of the others left me feeling a little underwhelmed and dare I say bored. Just typing this about a Gaiman book makes me feel like a traitor.”

    Oh no!!! I can totally relate to the pressure of loving a book just because it is a favorite author. I felt this way when I read the last book in a series I loved, but didn’t care for the final book. At the end of the day, I don’t think even the best authors can hit a home run EVERY book they write… I think even the best of them can have a dud or two.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree and I didn’t want to be fake and say I adored it because I adore him. Like you said they can’t hit home every time, I think a big part of not enjoying these is that they were short stories I think he does much better with proper full length books

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

