Quick Reads

Quick Reads #9 – All I Know Now

all i know now

Link to Goodreads

Synopsis:

We all know that growing up is hard to do, and sometimes the only thing that makes it better are the reassuring words of someone who has walked that bumpy road just a few steps ahead of you and somehow ended up as a fully-functioning adult. Carrie Hope Fletcher is that person.* Thanks to her phenomenally popular YouTube videos, Carrie has become an ‘honorary big sister’ to hundreds of thousands of young people who turn to her for advice, friendship and, most of all, the knowledge that things will get better.
Carrie has created a safe and positive space for young people to connect and share their hopes and concerns online, and now she will share her most personal thoughts and experiences in her first book, ALL I KNOW NOW. Part memoir, part advice guide, it will include Carrie’s thoughts on some of the topics she’s asked about most regularly: bullying, body image, relationships and perhaps the scariest question of all: what does the future hold for me? With warmth, wit and a sprinkling of hard-won wisdom, Carrie will provide the essential tools for growing up gracefully . . . most of the time.
*Although she did recently post a video about how to pee in a onesie. So the definition of ‘adult’ is a bit flexible here . . .

Goodreads Genre (ones I agree with highlighted in pink): 

Non-fiction / Memoir / Auto-Biography / Contemporary / Romance / Self help / Coming of age 

Recommend to:

Even though I read and enjoyed this in my mid twenties this is definatly most helpful for people in their mid to late teens.

My Thoughts:

Although I could relate to the general messages she was trying to get across in this book I couldn’t really relate to the situations anymore as I am out of school and I’m not just venturing out in the adult world I’ve been in it for what feels like forever now. I would definitely recommend this book to teens and I even think people in their mid twenties would enjoy it like I did. The format of the book is pretty great too, it is set out into different parts and then sections within that part so that if you need a little pep talk about a situation you’re in or you are feeling down about yourself it is easy to find where to flick to for advice.

 

Leave a Reply

