Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W 9th November

Topic: Characters you used to love but don’t anymore

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads. As always click characters name to be linked to the books Goodreads page.

1. Tris (Divergent)

When I read the first book I loved it and I thought Tris was pretty brill but as the series went on I just couldn’t stand how much the plot was focused on the “love” side of things. This is another classic example of a character that had the potential to be great and strong and independent and was ruined by a possessive, problematic love interest.

2. Scott Pilgrim 

A bit of a cheat answer for this one. I loved film Scott but book Scott was just very bland and boring and didn’t come across too well. I think this worked so much better as a film and honestly I think Scott was not even the same sort of character in the film as he was in the book.

3. Celaena Sardothien

I have not hidden the fact I have fallen well and truly out of love with The Throne of Glass series but Celeana is another prime example of a character that could have been great, could have been powerful, independent, strong and everything we should be seeing in female protagonists but has yet again fallen into the trope of being over shadowed by a possesive, over powering and in this case abusive (mentally and physically) man.

4. Sherlock

Okay, don’t get me wrong I still ADORE TV Sherlock but I got about 5/6 books into the series I started getting quite bored of book Sherlock. I think there might be a few too many books in the series because it starts to become incredibly predictable and as a character what first comes across as quirky and charming becomes arrogant and frustrating.

5. Lou Clark

At the beginning of Me Before You I quite liked Lou Clark. She seemed to be quirky and funny but it wasn’t long before she started to really grate on me. Aside from the big issue in the book she was always complaining of lots of other little things and all these little things could’ve been fixed/sorted with a conversation or a small action. Just not my kinda person at all.

t5w-9th-nov

 

One thought on “#T5W 9th November

  1. I’m with you on Tris! I really liked her in Divergent, but things went downhill fast in the 2nd and 3rd books.

    I am actually a fan of Lou. I think she shows tremendous growth in the book from beginning to end. Obviously I didn’t like how she let everyone treat her as a doormat in the beginning, but I think by the end of the book she felt empowered and ambitious to do more with her life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

