Book Review

The Dog Who Dared to Dream – Sun-Mi Hwang

Book Review spoiler free

2nd November to 6th November- Physical Copy – Link to Goodreads

the-dog-who-dared-to-dream

Synopsis:

This is the story of a dog named Scraggly. Born an outsider because of her distinctive appearance, she spends most of her days in the sun-filled yard of her owner’s house. Scraggly has dreams and aspirations just like the rest of us. But each winter, dark clouds descend and Scraggly is faced with challenges that she must overcome. Through the clouds and even beyond the gates of her owner’s yard lies the possibility of friendship, motherhood and happiness – they are for the taking if Scraggly can just hold on to them, bring them home and build the life she so desperately desires.

Pre-read thoughts:

I’ll be completely honest and admit this was a total cover buy for me. I did also read the blurb and it seemed interesting but I feel in love with the cover.

The Good:

This is a beautifully simple story about family, loyalty, courage, inner strength and so much more. It was incredibly easy to follow and I think that this could be read by people of most ages, there are some sad parts but there is nothing graphic in it so I would probably even let my 8 year old sister read it. Scraggly is not the runt of her litter but she is an outcast with different fur, always pushed aside at meal times and left on her own at play times. Grandpa Screecher see’s something in her though, he doesn’t favour her any more than the others but he knows she is different, he just can’t put his finger on it. This story touched my heart and just goes to show you don’t have to be overly pretentious with complex prose to make a point! There was a very interesting cast of side characters too including “The Old Cat” (the neighbours cat who is always walking the wall and winding someone or other up) and “Sister-In-Law” a hen that is brought to the house about half way through the book which is somewhat of a bully to Scraggly and the others and is very self absorbed. I loved the cat the most I think their temperament and general demeanor really did capture

The Bad:

I haven’t got a lot to say in this section all I can really say is that I found myself a little frustrated in some parts. This is because even though you know what the dog is trying to say the owner (grandpa Screecher) doesn’t and so sometimes I just wanted their connection to be so tight that he could somehow at least guess.

Overall:

This was an amazingly pleasant surprise. An I highly recommend to anyone looking for something easy to read but with meaning.

paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart half

4 thoughts on “The Dog Who Dared to Dream – Sun-Mi Hwang

    1. I think it could be yes. It’s not got any language in it and there is a little violence but it doesn’t go into much detail and it’s a little sad at the end but overall because of how it’s told and the language it uses and the way it explains situations I think it could be read to middle graders. If you’re unsure you could always give it a quick skim through before hand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

