Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W 30th November

top-5-wednesday

Topic: Favourite Villains (No Harry Potter Characters)

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads. As always click the character names below to be linked to the books Goodreads page.

1. Agoraphobia

Mixing it up early on in this top 5 Wednesday! I’m going with the illness Agoraphobia as depicted in Under Rose-Tinted Skies. As someone who suffers with depression and anxiety I am all too aware of how villainous mental illness can be. For me my anxiety especially at the moment is like another person inside me who tells me I’m not good enough or strong enough and fills me with dread and doubt until I am paralysed. The worst kind of villain is the one that lives inside your mind!

2. The Pigs (Animal Farm)

The pigs are a classic example of villains throughout real life history. Feeds you lies, promises a better life and laughs up there at the top while we all blindly follow in darkness and squalor! …. Wow I think this T5W is maybe getting a little deep maybe I should switch it up a little 🙂

3. Joe (You)

Joe in You by Caroline Kepnes really gives me the creeps and this is mainly because he could be real. When you hear stories about girls who are kidnapped or stalked Joe is the fictional embodiment of the kind of person who would do this. I don’t know if this makes him a villain but in my eyes he makes the list.

4. President Snow

This is for very much the same reasons as I picked the Pigs for Animal Farm but with the addition that in some sick and twisted way I think President Snow actually thinks he is keeping the world balanced with his actions.

5. Hitler

I could pick maybe great fiction and non fiction books for this answer but I think if I was going to be specific I would go with the Hitler written about in the Wolf by Wolf duology. And that is all I will say as I do not want to spoil anything

I feel like I have been a little heavy especially in the first couple of answers so here’s a picture of my awesome little dude to lighten the mood!

Displaying 20160903_145603(0).jpg

t5w-30th-now

 

6 thoughts on “#T5W 30th November

  1. The Pigs!! Of course!! It’s funny because in school we read Animal Farm and we had to give a speech as one of the characters. Everyone was the sheep or the horse (I can’t remember what else there was), but I was the only one who did my speech as the Pig!! My teacher glared at me and called me a Nazi!!!

    Sorry, I went off topic there. But awesome list with awesome villains 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

