Book Review

The Diva Rules – Michelle Visage

book-review-spoiler-free

20th November to 22nd November ~ Audio-book ~ Link to Goodreads

michelle

Synopsis:

Michelle Visage is not your average diva. Powerful, positive, and polished, this diva’s not only glamorous, she’s a savvy businesswoman with serious credentials who works her tail off. From her days vogueing in the downtown Manhattan clubs in the ’90s to her successful career in radio and her ultimate cult status as a judge on RuPaul’s Drag Race, Michelle has achieved her dreams and then some! In The Diva Rules, Visage shares her rules and advice for living life to the fullest and finding success no matter the hand you’re dealt. With her no-nonsense style and super sassy voice, Michelle tells readers to “Keep Your Shit Together,” “Give Good Face,” and “Be Thankful You’re a Misfit,” in addition to 22 other invaluable life lessons on finding your power and sparkling your way to the top.

Review:

I picked this up because I am a huge fan of RuPaul’s Drag Race I have seen every episode from Series 2 to Series 8 plus All Stars 1 & 2 many times over and I love the straight talk of Michelle Visage. I don’t usually read auto-biographies but I follow Michelle Visage on most social media and like I say I’m a massive fan of Drag Race so I thought it would be interesting.

I was a little bit disappointed if I’m honest. I didn’t have high expectations but I think I was thinking it would be more about her life and her struggles and it was more a how-to guide that focused more towards very outgoing people/performers. Because of this I don’t really think I got much out of this book. She kept saying the advice was aimed at people from all walks of life but I really do feel every day people who are more wallflowers wouldn’t get anything out of this book.

It was quite humorous and there were some great little gems among the speel but it was very apparent from the beginning that I was never going to be the target audience for this book. Also I was hoping RuPaul would be mentioned more throughout because he really fascinates me with his positivity and wisdom but unfortunately there wasn’t much in there about him and their relationship.

Overall: I think there was some great little tid-bits in there, it was funny and a quick read but ultimately it wasn’t for me.

paw heart paw heart

Follow me for reading updates: Insta @KirstyandtheCatRead Twitter @KandtheCatRead

3 thoughts on “The Diva Rules – Michelle Visage

  1. I’m sorry this one was a let down 😦

    “I was thinking it would be more about her life and her struggles and it was more a how-to guide that focused more towards very outgoing people/performers. Because of this I don’t really think I got much out of this book. She kept saying the advice was aimed at people from all walks of life but I really do feel every day people who are more wallflowers wouldn’t get anything out of this book.”

    So what you are saying is that it is more of a book for “in your face” people like me lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

