Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W 14th December

top-5-wednesday

Topic: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads. As always click the book names below to be linked to the books Goodreads page

t5w-14th

1. The Selection Series – Keira Cass

I wasn’t a huge fan of this series but I thought the first book was fun and easy to read but it went downhill fairly quickly for me. The second book seemed a little ridiculous and I don’t think I even finished the 3rd. The whole series could’ve been squished down into one book for sure!

2. The Divergent Series – Veronica Roth

I think this book will probably make an appearance on many lists but I’m okay with not being that original on this score. The first book was pretty good I really enjoyed it and it was interesting but before the first book even came to a close I was starting to get bored. Back in these days I made sure I finished all series a started but I don’t make that mistake now and that’s mainly because of this series. Book two was just dull and focused more on the “romance” which I think was a big let down because it had a lot of potential. The third book for me felt like a completely different book to the rest of the series like the author had just got bored and changed it up.

3.  Sherlock Holmes Series – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I’m a massive fan of the Sherlock BBC Series but the books weren’t as great for me. I loved the first 3 books in the series the 4th was only okay and I really struggled to even finish the 5th so I won’t be continuing with the rest of the series. I think once you have read the first few you know what to expect from the rest and so they all become a bit dull because they become predictable.

4. Throne of Glass Series – Sarah J Maas

I really hate what has happened to this series as it’s gone along. I enjoyed ToG I adored Crown of Midnight but Heir of Fire really got my back up. I hated the abusive relationship(s) I hated how slow it was, I hated how it seemed to change so much from the first two books it seemed like a different series all together in most parts. I attempted Queen of Shadows a few times but the abusive relationship continued and all the other little gripes I carried on in the 100pages or so I did manage to slog through.

5. The Hunger  Games – Suzanne Collins

I actually don’t dislike the series but I don’t read that many series so I was struggling to pick another one. I do feel like this series went down hill a tiny bit with each book but they weren’t terrible I think it was just that the first book was so original (at the time) and so action packed that anything following it was bound to fall a little flat in comparison.

5 thoughts on “#T5W 14th December

  1. It’s really interesting to me that you have TOG on here. I haven’t read the series yet but it seems like most people have the opposite opinion – they didn’t like the first book that much but liked the series more as it went on. Although I’ve heard some mixed things about the most recent book. Regardless, it’s nice to see someone who has a different opinion on it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. From book 3 there are some problematic relationships and very abusive relationships and even though others feel like this is justifiable I will never be okay with glorified abusive relationships in books or books where men/women are manipulative/possessive/physically abusive and its written like this is okay

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

