Discussion

2017 Bookish Goals

discussion

So I posted about my 2017 goals this week but that was quite a general sweep of personal and reading etc.

I’d like to elaborate on some of the specific goals I have for reading here. I don’t want to be too strict on myself and take the joy out of reading but I do want some guidlines so lets jump into it.

Setting a Goodreads Goal:

I would love to be one of these people who can set their goal at 1 book but I feel if I do that then I will become complacent. So for the 3rd year in a row I will be setting my goal at 52; one book a week should be doable, I have smashed it every other year so if it aint broke don’t fix it.

tbr

TBR unwrapping:

Late on in 2016 I decided to wrap up all the books I own that I haven’t read yet and each month or so unwrap 1 of each type to read. I think I only did this once before I got distracted by the books I got for my Birthday. I’d love to carry on with this through 2017 though and see how well it works for me. I’m hoping it will get me excited for books that have been sitting there for ages and even if I DNF them at least it will be making a dent in the amount.

5-1 challenge:

I can’t remember where I found this challenge but basically you have to read 5 books you own before you are aloud to buy 1 book. This could be a big challenge for me as I have brought so many books this year. I’m hoping this will help me make a dent in my physical TBR but that it will also help me just buy books I’ve wanted to read for a while not just picking up 5 or 6 random books.

Re-reading:

Every year I have books in mind that I want to re-read to see how I feel about them now but I get distracted by new shiny books 🙂 . I have started a list in my list journal of books I want to re-read and I would like to try and get at least 1 a month checked off but I think even if I only re-read 5 in 2017 I’ll consider this goal ticked off.

I’ve had a pretty crazy reading year this year and I think adding these structures will help me read more books I’ll love and not just picking books up that are big in the community at the time. Lastly I’m hoping to read more diverse books (recommend some in the comments) and would love to find some accurate representation for depression and anxiety!

What are your reading goals? (Link your post down below for me to check out)

What has your reading year been like in 2016?

What has been your favourite and least favourite book of the year? 

To keep up to date and see how I do with these challenges in 2017 follow me on Instagram @KirstyandtheCatRead and twitter @KandtheCatRead
20 thoughts on “2017 Bookish Goals

  1. Ooh, I love the idea of TBR wrapping, and the 5-1 challenge! I think I’m going to try to do one of these, as I also have that problem of getting distracted by shiny new books! This year I want to make sure I get to some of the ones that have been sitting on my shelf neglected for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The unwrapping is fun! I had my two sisters (5 & 8) and my cousins (6 & 10) around yesterday so they picked one from each category and opened them for me but they all picked really big books so thats scary lol! I’m excited to start 5:1 but with how I’ve been buying books this year it will be the biggest challenge for me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww, I know what you mean, I find big books so intimidating! Which ones did they end up picking? Yes haha, it’ll be a huge challenge for me too, I went crazy with book-buying this year, and it will probably take me a year just to finish all my existing books, maybe longer… Oops!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Crooked Kingdoms, Moby Dick, Six Four and Code Name Verity I believe 3 out of the 4 are all over 600pages 😲. I know that feeling all too well though we could suprise ourselves and smash through them in the first half of the year

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Eek! I’m sure you’ll enjoy them though 🙂 I’ve heard great things about Crooked Kingdom. I just picked up Six of Crows recently, I’m really excited to see what all the fuss is about 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I did the 5 in 1 challenge last year and it didn’t work so well for me! haha except I kept getting review copies and counting them in the 5 in 1 … when I wasn’t reading my TBR but the publisher copies hahaha!! I haven’t set any goals this year. I might do less publisher reviews and do more of my own book reviews this year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

