Discussion

2016 Favourites!

discussion

Today is my first day back at work after what seems like a very long Christmas break so to cheer myself up a little I thought I would look back on some of my favourite books of 2016! I’d love to know your favourites or even your least favourites so be sure to link your posts/videos below for me to check out!

Before we get started as always the titles of the books are linked to Goodreads so be sure to check them out if any peak your interest! I highly recommend them all!

animalAnimal Farm – George Orwell – Finished January 2016 – Why I Loved it:
What’s not to love! I really wish I’d read this before now so I could have re-read it 4 or 5 times already! This book seems to be a witty satirical look at the state of the world and politics at the time it was written but what I loved the most was how relatable it still was today. This book tells the story of a farm where the animals start an uprising of sorts against their humans and it goes from there. The book as a whole is amazing and got me thinking alot more thank I thought a 100odd page book could but the last page or 2 especially blew my mind!

blood-for-bloodWolf by Wolf duology – Ryan Graudin – Finished February 2016 & October 2016 – Why I loved it:
What a sensational series. I loved that it was only two books long for starters as most the time after the second book series can tend to get a little “meh”. Wolf by Wolf is an alternate history novel set in Germany if Hitler had won WW2 and I loved it! WW2 is my favourite time period to read about and the alternate side of this series made it quite refreshing to read. The characters are strong and well formed and the plot is fast paced and it is just an incredibly well rounded book with a little bit of something for everyone!

saltSalt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys – February 2016 – Why I loved it:
Just like I said for Wolf by Wolf I adore WW2 novels and I had heard a lot about Ruta’s other novel Between Shades of Gray. I can’t remember why I picked this one up first but I’m glad I did. As much as I loved Between Shades of Gray when I finally read it I think this one has a very slight edge on it. I am an emotional person however it takes a lot for a movie or a film to stir up enough emotion in me to get me to laugh out loud or cry and this book did both (though I admit more crying that laughing went on!). This book is told from 4 very different perspectives but it was done extremely well and you could always tell who you were reading from it never blended into the same person. Also because of the multi-POV and also the beautiful writing it was really difficult to put this book down and I flew through it!

the-winners-kissThe Winners Kiss – Marie Rutkoski – Finished April 2016 – Why I loved it:
I fell in love with the Winners trilogy back at the beginning of 2015 and this final book in the trilogy did not let me down. It isn’t very often I anticipate books but I was incredibly excited for a year for this book to be released so much so a part of me was worried I was too excited and it would be a let down. It picks up right where book 2 leaves us and straight away I was sucked straight back into the world and emotionally connected to the characters. I am hoping to re-read the series back to back at some point this year and I can’t wait! I can’t really go into why I loved this book so much as it is the final book of a series but I highly recommend checking out the Goodreads page for the first book (The Winners Curse) and would say don’t let the covers fool you too much this is a series about more than just a girl in a dress, so much more!

A Monster CallsA Monster Calls – Patrick Ness – Finished July 2016 – Why I loved you:
I think this book should have been around 11 years ago when I lost my dad. It is a brilliant novel about dealing with difficult times and grief and feeling powerless and invisible. I think there are messages in here for people struggle with all kinds of issues but I think how it handled grief was sensational and should be required reading for anyone going through loss.

Under Rose-Tainted SkiesUnder Rose-Tainted Skies – Louise Gornall – Finished August 2016 – Why I loved it:
It is so rare to see my anxiety dipicted accurately and well in novels so this book was really refreshing. I felt a deep connection to Norah and her struggles with tasks others take for granted like leaving the house. A lot of her struggles are things that also leave me paralysed in fear or curled up in a ball in a tiny corner. I adore that this wasn’t a “love saves the day” kind of ending either I hate books that make out love is enough to cure mental illness. I have love, I am loved I do love and unfortunately it has not saved me from panic attacks, depression and chronic crippling fear of every day tasks/activities. If you suffer from anxiety this might be a great book for you to pick up.

Milk and HoneyMilk & Honey – Rupi Kaur – Finished September 2016 – Why I loved it:
This is a book of poetry about the struggles of a women and is told in the common phrases we all go through. I wasn’t expecting to love this one as much as I did because usually I don’t like poetry books but I found this to be beautiful in it’s raw and real way. It packed such a big punch to me and I found myself wanting more when I turned the last page. This doesn’t soften anything up or attempt to make anything sound pretty and profound it’s blunt and in it’s bluntness it is more beautiful than anything I’ve ever read!

What were your favourite reads of 2016, link your posts below?

Did you read any of the books I mentioned above?

Follow me on Instagram @KirstyandtheCatRead and Twitter @KandtheCatRead

5 thoughts on “2016 Favourites!

  1. Can I just how well done this post is?! The pictures are absolutely wonderful! I hope you don’t take offense to this, but in the few months that we’ve been blogging buddies, I can really see the progress and evolution of your blog! Kuddos to you for all your hard work!

    Obviously I need to check out the Wolf by Wolf series now! It really hasn’t been on my radar, but I can’t ignore how much you loved it.

    Oh Animal Farm! What an excellent book to pick up right now. I haven’t read it since high school, but it would be so relevant today like you said.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t take offence to that at all! Quite the opposite, it’s nice to be paid the complement. I’m trying a little harder each week to improve. This is still just a fun hobby for me but at the same time I want it to be the best it can be.

      And yes, read Wolf by Wolf! Lol Animal Farm is due a re-read for me now too with the political crazyness going on!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

