Discussion

TBR Tackling Tips

discussion

I’ll start this with a disclaimer I am in no way able to give tips on how to cut down your physical TBR’s and help you get through the books you already own. However last year I managed to cut down my Goodreads TBR to 15 books and my Goodreads wishlist to 9!

With it being a new year there’s a lot of talk about TBR’s and a lot of hype and anticipation around new books that will be released this year. It’s super easy to get swept up with all this and to get carried away adding books to your Goodreads TBR. If you’re anything like I was a few months later you’ll be looking at your TBR wondering how you’ll get through them all!

I thought I would share my top 3 tips on how I managed to cut mine down and keep it down so without anymore rambling lets get to it ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Don’t be afraid to delete

When you start to look at your TBR and it’s 400-500 books long put some time aside to go through it! The chances are some of the books have been there for a long time and you’ve lost interest or your reading tastes have changed. When your on the page on Goodreads hover your mouse over the picture of the book and it will show you the summary. If it doesn’t interest you anymore or if you haven’t thought about the book in the last 6 months or so get rid! You might feel bad, guilty or reluctant at first but everyone’s tastes change and there’s nothing wrong with that.

2. Know your taste

It’s so easy to get swept up with blog and booktube rave reviews andย blindly add them to our TBR without really checking to see if it’s something we’d enjoy. I also think it’s good to step outside your comfort zone but I think it’s more important to know your own individual tastes. Life’s too short for what you’d find a mediocre read. I often wonder how many “meh” reviews out there could have been avoided if the reader hadn’t followed the hype and stuck to their guns, we’ve all been there.

3. Wait.

The best tip that has helped me over the past half a year or so is waiting. When I see a book reviewed on booktube or a bookblog I take a screenshot with my phone, if I’m out shopping I take a quick picture on my phone and then once a week (or sometimes a little longer) I go through the pictures and search them on goodreads, if I’m still interested they get added to my list if I’m past it I just delete it and move on.

There’s nothing wrong with having a TBR that is 400 books long if that suits you but if you find it daunting or you’ve been meaning to cut it down for a while I hope these tips help.

Let me know your thoughts below ๐Ÿ™‚

How many books are on your TBR?

 

8 thoughts on “TBR Tackling Tips

  1. I’ve got over 1800 books on my Goodreads TBR. I couldn’t imagine getting it down to 9, but I would like to delete some of those. There are tons on there that I know I’ll never read… but it’ll be so time consuming, that I just say “screw it”. I need some motivation!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Blimey! 1800 books that would be a chunk of time to sort out! Maybe break it down so go through a certain number of pages at a time ๐Ÿ™‚ – I didn’t think I’d ever be able to get mine down as low as I have but I’m glad I did now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

