Book Review

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – J.K Rowling

book-review-spoiler-free

31st December ~ Physical Copy ~ Link to Goodreads

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay

Synopsis:

J.K. Rowling’s screenwriting debut is captured in this exciting hardcover edition of the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them screenplay.
When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.
Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any reader’s bookshelf.

From book cover:
J.K. Rowling invites you to explore a new era of the Wizarding World…
Explorer and Magizoologist Newt Scamander has just completed a round-the-globe trip in search of the most rare and unusual magical creatures. Arriving in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when Newt’s case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape into the city, it spells trouble for everyone…

Review:

After having a very “Meh” opinion of the cursed child I must admit I was very nervous about this book. I decided to watch the film first and to be honest I’m really glad that I did.

While watching the film I felt just like I did as a kid watching Philosophers stone for the first time. I was hugging my cushion and at the edge of my seat, eyes wide for the whole 2 hours. The visuals were stunning and I could not have been more happy at how it came out, I think it maybe lacked quite a bit in plot but since it has been revealed there will be more films I think it’s pretty standard; Most first books/films etc are focused more on the set up.

I am not usually a fan of reading screenplays and I think that if I hadn’t seen the film first I probably would have felt as “meh” about this as I did The Cursed Child. I enjoyed that this format was fast paced and it was super easy to read however I think sometimes the stage directions slowed the pace down a little, it would obviously describe what the actors would have to do and in some cases this was a paragraph or two long for something that only took a few moments of screen time.

I don’t tend to talk much about covers in my reviews but I couldn’t let this pass without taking the opportunity. This is possibly the most stunning cover I have ever come across! I love the midnight blue with the gold old fashioned doodles. I also loved the doodles that divided certain pages/scenes.

I liked the different setting to the original HP series and having it based in America but I don’t think I’m a fan of some of the lingo they use No-Mag!? Really, Muggle is a much better term! But again I think the new setting was great, it really freshened things up a little and I think it will allow for a creative licenses to be made too.

Overall: I don’t think there’s much I can say really I loved the film and enjoyed the book. I would definitely recommend watching the film first.

Have you read Fanatastic Beasts?

Have you seen the film?

How do you think it compares to The Cursed Child?

paw heartpaw heartpaw heartpaw heart

Follow me on Instagram @KirstyandtheCatRead and Twitter @KandtheCatRead

 

3 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – J.K Rowling

  1. I LOVED the movie! I saw it over Thanksgiving with my family, so of course I added it to my Christmas list right away. I haven’t actually read it yet, but I would probably agree that watching the film first would be the way to go with this one. I also agree that no-mag is a terrible name! Muggles all the way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

