Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W -25th Wednesday

top-5-wednesday

I’m here with another Top 5 Wednesday which was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes and the topics can be found on Goodreads.

Topic: Favorite Underrated Books

This was possibly the easiest T5W I’ve done in a long time! I had lots of fun picking and narrowing my list down instead of scraping the barrel just to find 5 🙂 I’ve gone more for unknown and under-rated than just low rated books so lets get cracking. As always click the book titles to be directed through to the Goodreads pages.

The Dog Who Dared to Dream

1. The Dog Who Dared to Dream – Sun-Mi Hwang

I came across this on a complete whim! I was browsing the shelves, as usual, and saw this little book facing out. The cover looked adorable and the blurb sounded really sweet. I was pleasantly surprised that this one was as good as it was. You can find my review here

 

 

 

 

Every Falling Star: The True Story of How I Survived and Escaped North Korea

 

2. Every Falling Star – Sungju Lee

This was another whim and another cover buy! Just like the first one it completely surprised me, in a good way. This is a true and real account of a young/teenage boy surviving North Korea without his parents and eventually escaping. Absolutely worth a read and I recommend to people all the time! My review is here

 

 

 

Under Rose-Tainted Skies

 

3. Under Rose-Tinted Skies – Louise Gornall

I can’t rave about this one enough. As someone who suffers with mental heal issues it is very rare that I get to see myself in books. This depicts Agoraphobia brilliantly and in a real and war way. I do not suffer Agoraphobia but I have severe depression and anxiety and alot of my anxiety was shown throughout this book. You can read my review here

 

 

Serena

 

 

4. Serena – Ron Rash

I’ve mentioned this one a few times in previous T5W’s and I’m surprised when looking on Goodreads that I only rated this one 3.5 as it’s really stuck with me. I think maybe I loved the character Serena more than I loved the plot but the Audio-book is well worth a listen!

 

 

 

A Room with a View

 

 

5. A Room with a View – E.M Forster 

In my early 20’s I went through a phase of reading almost all E.M Forsters novels. This was by far my favourite. The shortest of his works but the most impactful this, to me, is a story of a young girls self discovery through a trip to Italy!

 

Link below to your T5W or let me know your picks in the comments 🙂

Follow me on Instagram @KirstyandtheCatRead and Twitter @KandtheCatRead

9 thoughts on “#T5W -25th Wednesday

Leave a Reply

