Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W – 8th March 2017

top-5-wednesday

Topic: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

This should be a pretty easy topic for me to find 5 books for! I was actually pretty excited about going through my shelves to find my top 5. So let’s get cracking shall we, as always click the title to be linked through to the books Goodreads page.

Fullmetal Alchemist (3-in-1 Edition), Vol. 11. Full Metal Alchemist – Hiromu Arakawa

I only started this series last month and I have only read the first 3 volumes so far but I am loving it! I’d say it’s a little more science fiction than Fantasy which I don’t usually enjoy but I think because it’s a manga and because it has some great banter and humour I barely notice the science side of it all. I feel like I say this for any Manga I have read but this one would be a perfect starter for anyone wanting to get into Manga.

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)2. Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

This book ticks so many boxes it’s diverse, it’s fast paced, it has well developed characters and an interesting plot that keeps you turning pages. I think the first book in this duology is better than the second but only by a little. I didn’t think it would be as good as the hype but I was pleasantly surprised. If you are unsure about this book because of the hype and the synopsis sounds like something you would usually read and enjoy I would really recommend giving it a shot.

Vicious (Vicious, #1)3. Vicious – V.E Schwab

I read this at the end of 2015 and I still think about it quite often over a year later. I think this is a brilliant look at how there isn’t really any such thing as certain good and bad people there are always grey areas and usually those grey areas are influenced by ego or selfishness. I enjoy V.E Schwab’s other books that I’ve read but I don’t think any are as good as this one. If you haven’t checked this one out yet I really strongly urge you to at least check out it’s synopsis. Even if you weren’t a big fan of A Darker Shade of Magic (like myself) you might still really enjoy this as it’s so different.

The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1)4. The Winners Trilogy – Marie Rutkoski

I couldn’t have a top 5 for fantasy novels without including this trilogy. It isn’t for everyone and it’s a little cliche in places but it’s one of my all time favourites. I find it refreshing that the protagonist, Kestrel, is strong with her mind. I like that it shows that women don’t have to be good combat fighters to be interesting in a book but that girls and women can be smart and fight with their wits.

The Martian5. The Martian – Andy Weir

Last but not least I had to include The Martian. I don’t read many science fiction novels because sometimes they can be a little tricky too follow and too full of techy information. This one does have some sections that are a little info dumpy with science stuff but it is balanced with great humour and suspense. I really loved this book and I can see myself re-reading it in a few years time.

 

To join in you can find the topics here.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for my reading and writing updates!

2 thoughts on “#T5W – 8th March 2017

  1. Ooooo I haven’t seen that cover for Vicious before! I’m digging it! I really need to get around to reading it… The Martian is another one on here that is on my TBR. Actually, I was just saying in my T5W post that I need more Sci-Fi in my life since my list was made up of ALL fantasy novels.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

