Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W – 15th March 2017

top-5-wednesday

Topic: Books or Characters You Felt Betrayed By

I thought this would’ve been a lot harder than it actually was to find 5. Turns out it was harder working out which books/characters I wasn’t betrayed by :). As always click on the book title to be linked through to it’s Goodreads page.

The Book Thief

1. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

A little bit of a controversial choice to kick this week off. I felt so betrayed by this book, as a rule this should have been everything I love in a novel. A historical fiction book set in WW2 would usually tick all my boxes but this was just dull and bland and the characters were so 1 dimensional I couldn’t feel anything for them.

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)2. Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

I can only really comment on the first book in the series because it’s the only one I read. This is one of the very few I have read just because of the hype around it and it is the main reason why I don’t as a rule read hyped books. Everyone was raving about this before it was even released and I was excited to pick it up. Boy was I disappointed  it was the first book that really brought to my attention how cliche a lot of YA Fantasy is. The chosen one, insta-love, family secrets, a royal family that are nasty (with no other dimensions to them). Blah Blah Blah!

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3)3. Heir of Fire – Sarah J Maas

I didn’t completely adore Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight but this third book in the series left me feeling really angry and betrayed. The introduction of the violent and abusive Rowan and the normalisation of his actions towards others including Celeana angered me so much that I had to boycot the series from there. I am not here for that at all!

Soundless4. Soundless – Richelle Mead

This was quite a different premise to books I had read in the past but the sound of it really intrigued me. The longer I waited for it the more excited I got, all the arc reviews seemed to be positive and then I received it the first day it was released and was so incredibly bored! So much potential was squandered with this book and I really felt like re-writing the whole book myself after reading it.

Everything, Everything

5. Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

I’m not angry at how this book betrayed me and I didn’t hate it either. The end was terrible there’s no other way around it! The whole premise of the book and the message of the book is smashed to pieces at the end.

 

 

To join in you can find the topics here.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for my reading and writing updates!

7 thoughts on “#T5W – 15th March 2017

  1. I haven’t read Soundless yet, but I was put off because although I used to love Richelle Mead, lately she’s really disappointed me. I didn’t like her last book “The glittering Court” at all 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I cannot agree with you more about Red Queen! I also read it because of the hype. I found myself underlining and circling (yes in my book – something I NEVER do) all the clichés and tropes. There was no originality. It is a shame because I think Aveyard is a talented writer….

    I’ve never read a Maas or Mead book and I am not going to lie, I probably never will. I have zero desire to pick up their books…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Aveyard’s writing was actually pretty good, I didn’t DNF Red Queen so it must’ve been good enough to pull me through but the idea and execution of the idea was just really poor. I’d be tempted to pick up any future books by her if the plot sounded good enough. In terms of Maas I don’t really think you are missing much at all, once I started picking up on the issues with the TOG series I saw them more in ACOTAR too and I feel like the only person that didn’t like A Court of Mist & Fury! In terms of Mead I can’t really say much because soundless is the only book of hers I’ve read but I have no urge to read any of her other books after it *big thumbs down!*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

