Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W – 29-03-2017

top-5-wednesday

Topic: Future Classics

I found this one a little tricky to define really. I think the bookish market is so over-crowded with “meh” and over hyped books that I’m not sure there are many that will be considered classics in the future. So I’ve kind of adjusted this one a little to books that I feel will be timeless for whatever reason and even then I could only pick 3 that were seemed to fit. As always click the book titles to be linked through to their Goodreads page.

Small Great Things

1. Small Great Things – Jodi Picoult

I think this one will be quite timeless because even though I hope beyond hope that racism becomes a thing of the past I think this isn’t something that will happen soon and so this to me seemed like an important book with addressing that! And if racism does become a thing of the past I think this book will still be good for future generations to read so they can see how things are now.

Salt to the Sea

2. Salt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys

I think just for the beauty of the language and the description of scenes this book is timeless but the fact it takes on a pretty forgotten part of history in such a heart breaking way is fantastic! I became a huge fan of Ruta Sepetys last year after reading this book and I think it will stand the test of time!

A Monster Calls

3. A Monster Calls – Siobhan Dowd & Patrick Ness

The theme of this book is grief and what theme could be more timeless! With how accurate the book is and how it really hits the nail on the head in a brutally honest way will see this book being read by people for generations.

To join in you can find the topics here.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for my reading and writing updates!

6 thoughts on “#T5W – 29-03-2017

Leave a Reply

