Wrap Up

March 2017 Wrap Up!

wrap-up

So this month seems to have been good in terms of reflection and setting things into motion to make sure I get out of the year what I want. I’ve had a good look at all the goals I set at the start of the year and looked at which ones are still important to me and which ones just aren’t for me anymore.

Sadly I only managed to finish 3 books this month and that 2 book head start with reviews I’ve had is now a level playing field so I definitely need to get back on track with that. Writing also has been a little all over the place bipping and bopping from one idea to another. The flow I seemed to get under wing in November for NaNoWriMo has definitely gone poof! However my brother (who also writes) has been really encouraging!

With the personal issues I had and was going through there seems to be a little light at the end of the tunnel and after doing my reflecting I think baby steps are the key to getting back to my old self :). This has also meant I’ve been able to get back into a schedule with the blog and the new writing segment (every other Sunday) will be introduced 9th April!

Read this Month:

Small Great Things

Small Great Things – Jodi Picoult

3 Word Review: Powerful. Emotional. Important.

Full Review Here

A Quiet Kind of Thunder

A Quiet Kind of Thunder – Sara Barnard

3 Word Review: Cute. Quick. Predictable.

Full Review Here

Coraline and Other Stories

Coraline & Other Stories – Neil Gaiman

3 Word Review: Creepy. Witty. Dark.

Full Review Here

Coming Up:

Here’s a snap of a spontaneous TBR unwrapping I did earlier in the month. Also part of my TBR is Full Metal Alchemist Volumes 4-6, Norse Mythology (Neil Gaiman) & Vengence Road (Erin Bowman). You’ll notice the Elephant candle features in quite a few pictures I can’t help but use it because I love it so much!

DNF’s:

I have 2 DNFs this month I’m afraid. So I picked up Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins but within the first 20-odd pages I knew it wasn’t going to be for me. I didn’t really like the protagonist and I had a sense I knew where the plot was going to go and wasn’t really interested! Next up was Coming Up for Air by George Orwell, I read have Animal Farm, 1984 and some of his diary collection but this was a little lacking for me. It had his usual humour and charm but I just wasn’t that interested. I think I could see what he was wanting to put across in the book, I enjoyed what I read and I think it was doing exactly what the author wanted to do but I wasn’t hooked.

Writing Wrap Up:

So I have been bitting and bopping around with ideas so I haven’t made much progress with anything really however I have written a lot of words they’re just not all towards one thing :). I have the usual long weekend for Easter in April and I’ve also booked a couple of holiday days with work so I’m hoping to put at least 2 of those towards writing. This should also give me a little time to pick an idea and work on outlines and planning!

Shout Outs:

I want to do some shout-outs within my wrap ups now so here is a short list of just a few posts I’ve really enjoyed this month.

Cover2CoverMom : Blogger/Follower Expectations

The Book Moo : Does Too Much Description Kill a Story

Mortal Reader : Favourite YA Female Book Characters

The Bookish Khaleesi : Dream Loot Crate Beauty & the Beast

What was your favourite read of the past month?

Have you read any of the books on my lists?

Link me to any posts you think I should check out from the past month (either your own or others)

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for my reading and writing updates!

5 thoughts on “March 2017 Wrap Up!

  1. Awww I’m sorry you had a bit of a rough month with reading & writing. Are you no longer editing your NaNoWriMo project from this past time?! I didn’t realize you were working on new stuff already! That’s awesome that you and your brother can bond over writing! Have you ever thought about doing a collaboration?

    Thank you so much for featuring my post ❤

    Like

  2. I really need to read Great Small Things soon. It seems like a brilliant read. Sad to hear about Isla. I have only read Anna and the French Kiss in the series and have never been keen on the other two books. I may check them out someday though.

    Happy April!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

