DNF Reviews

DNF Mini-Reviews #1-5

book-review-spoiler-free

I am now behind on book reviews since March was such a slow reading month and I barely finished anything. I have been wanting to do a DNF review segment for a while so it seemed like the perfect time! I’m thinking of doing this once a month or so because I seem to be DNF-ing books at a break neck speed lately!

I think the lesson learned from this set of DNF’s is listen to your instincts/trust your taste.

Robinson Crusoe
Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
Link to Goodreads
Why: Just not my cup of tea, I kind of knew it wouldn’t be when I brought it but I still went ahead and brought it….ooops!

Look Who's Back

Look Who’s Back – Timur Vermes
Link to Goodreads
Why: I thought this was going to be funny and witty but it fell pretty flat. It was taking forever to read and nothing really happened in what I did read so I put it down. This is one of my biggest disappointments.

The Night Manager
The Night Manager – John Le Carre
Link to Goodreads
Why: This was a show on the BBC at the time I brought it and I’d heard nothing but good things. I thought I’d read the book first but it was dull and seemed quite sexist and racist in parts! I don’t know if the show is better because it’s set in modern times but I have not interest in this book.

Moby-Dick; or, The Whale
Moby Dick – Herman Melville
Link to Goodreads
Why: Deep down I knew this wouldn’t be my cup of tea when I brought it, to keep it short and sweet; I was right!

Six Four
Six Four – Hideo Yokoyama
Link to Goodreads
Why: I was so excited to read this one. The blurb sounded right up my street. Sadly I read around 200 pages and absolutely nothing of note had happened. I just got too frustrated to carry on, if nothing had happened so far I was prepared to read another 400 pages just to see if it got better!

Have you read any of these books?

What are your thoughts on DNF-ing books?

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for my reading and writing updates!

2 thoughts on “DNF Mini-Reviews #1-5

Leave a Reply

