Top 5 Wednesday

#T5W – 12th April 2017

top-5-wednesday

Topic: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

This was such a tricky topic! I grew up with two massive gamer brothers (one even studied Games Design at Uni) but not even that could really prepare me for the trickiness of this weeks topic 🙂

I only managed 4 but I didn’t want to just add another one for the sake of making 5. Here goes though kiddos. As always click the book title to be linked to that books page.

1. Circus Mirandus – Cassie Beasley

Circus Mirandus

I just recently finished this book. It is a middle grade book about a magic circus and a pretty impressive “Light Bender”. I think this would be a pretty good game especially for kids to explore the different attractions at the Circus and perhaps there would be mini games at each attraction. I see it playing a little like Spyro: Riptos Rage.

2. Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)

So much happens in book one alone that I think it would be a pretty interesting game to play. Each level could be a heist or an escape and you’d also get to explore Ketterdam and other places in the Grisha-verse so how could you possibly not love that! I see it playing a little like the Harry Potter Games.

3. Illuminae – Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

I feel this will probably make a lot of peoples lists but I had to include it. I wasn’t overly keen on the book I found it bland and quite predictable but I would definitely love a game based on this plot. I can see it playing a lot like the kind of games my younger brother plays where you can walk around freely but their’s an ultimate goal such as saving people – wow that was certainly vague but I have no idea of any of the names 🙂

4. Wolf by Wolf – Ryan Graudin

Wolf By Wolf (Wolf By Wolf, #1)

I love this duology and I think it would be a good game even if it was just an app. As the first book is a motorbike race across various countries the game would be more focused on this than the major parts of the plot. I know there are a lot of racing games out there but if you give this one a little of the plot and you played as Yael (a shapeshifter of sorts) that would be an interesting twist.

 

To join in you can find the topics here.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for my reading and writing updates!

2 thoughts on “#T5W – 12th April 2017

Leave a Reply

