Book Review

Little Women – Louisa May Alcott

book-review-spoiler-free

14th March to 3rd April ~ Audio ~ Link to Goodreads

Little Women (Little Women, #1)

Synopsis:

Little Women is the heartwarming story of the March family that has thrilled generations of readers. It is the story of four sisters–Jo, Meg, Amy and Beth– and of the courage, humor and ingenuity they display to survive poverty and the absence of their father during the Civil War.

Review:

I saw the film Little Women many moons ago but I don’t really remember it that well. I’ve been wanting to read more classics to see which type I enjoy the most and I must say I was pleasantly surprised to this read/listen.

The audio book is about 17 hours long and I have to say within the first couple of hours I wasn’t convinced I would finish it at all. At that stage I felt like the 4 sisters were a little too cookie cutter. By this I mean that they all had one or two traits they were known for and they all stayed within that confine they didn’t seem any deeper or more fleshed out than this.

Although I don’t think this changed throughout the book I grew to enjoy that stability. Knowing what to expect from the four sisters based on their character moulds made me feel secure as a reader. I’m not sure if that makes much sense but it’s the best way I can describe it. Even though as a rule I tend to love my characters with a lot of layers and plenty of grey areas I feel like none of them were really lacking because one sister would always be there in the scene to balance out the other.

Jo and Amy for example. They, to me, seem to be the most realistic portrayal of all 4 sisters. They butt heads and grate against each other something rotten but when it comes down to the bare knuckles of it they love each other and both want the other to be happy. I only grew up with brothers but Jo and Amy were pretty much just like me and my big brother.

A lot of books out there at the moment tend to focus on one parent families or families that don’t communicate well etc so it was really refreshing to read about a family that might have been poor in money but were so rich in love. The mother, though preachy at times, was just what I expect mothers to be like back in those days. She brought her girls up with a gentle hand, not forcing them to do better with harsh words or anger but by planting little seeds in their minds for the girls to let bloom into the idea of being better. This way each girl grew and evolved beautifully knowing their mother was cause but feeling proud that they’d done the hard work to get themselves there.

At times I did feel like it was starting to drag a little. There was a lot of filler that didn’t really add any value to the overall story and sometimes this frustrated me but the characters were charming and funny enough to pull me through the end.

Overall: I wasn’t expecting to like this if I’m honest. I always thought it was a book I had to read because it’s so well known but I thought it would end up on my huge pile of DNF books. Overall I loved it for what it was, a heart warming, witty book about one family growing together and 4 sisters growing from adolescence to Women.

Representation:

I don’t actually think this had any representation from what I can remember (please correct me in the comments if I am wrong). I feel this is fairly typical for the time period it was written and published.

paw heartpaw heartpaw heart

Have you read Little Women?

What books would you recommend that are similar?

Feel free to link your reviews in the comments below so I can see your thoughts!

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for my reading and writing updates!

2 thoughts on “Little Women – Louisa May Alcott

  1. I’m so glad to see that you finally gave this one a go! While I am sad you didn’t love it, I can agree with many of your criticisms.

    “Although I don’t think this changed throughout the book I grew to enjoy that stability. Knowing what to expect from the four sisters based on their character molds made me feel secure as a reader. I’m not sure if that makes much sense but it’s the best way I can describe it.”

    It does make sense. Little Women is what I would call a “comfort read.” It isn’t fast-paced and action packed, but rather slow and heartwarming…

    Lovely review Kirsty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did really enjoy it and I agree it’s a nice comfort read it seemed more Matching to a winter season when it’s near the holidays and everything is very family focused. I wish I’d loved it a little more but think I’d have appreciated it more if I was younger 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

