Wrap Up

Cosy Reading Night – Wrap Up

Cosy Reading Night is a 3hour read-a-thon of sorts hosted/created by booktuber Lauren from Lauren and the books.

I haven’t taken part in the previous two just because I wasn’t aware they were happening but I was determined to take part in this one!

I love the Idea of this so much because there is so much less pressure than with a normal read-a-thon. It’s short, it doesn’t have any rules or challenges and it really just promotes a solid 3 hours of reading in your comfiest clothes with your favourite snacks! What’s not to love.

I started two books Sunday after Finishing the Hate U Give on Saturday night so this was perfect for me. I usually like to set a good solid block of time aside when starting a new book so I can sink right into the beginning then after that I can pick it up whenever and whereever because I’m committed 🙂

I have started All Involved by Ryan Gattis and Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. Though the books seem fairly world’s apart in terms of plots and premise they are actually set up pretty similar. Each chapter of both books follows a different character.

Homegoing;

I managed to read 27pages of this yesterday of which only 13pages were tackled during the read-a-thon. I finished reading Effie’s chapter during Cosy Reading Night and it’s got me craving more! I’m really enjoying the writing style, which seems to be very fable-esque in some parts, and I’m really intrigued as to how it will continue and how it will all link up.

All Involved:

I managed a steady 41pages yesterday of which 27 were tackled during Cosy Reading Night. I felt like I wouldn’t be able to put this down at all, I don’t tend to read right before bed because I end up getting tiered and nodding off, forgetting what had just happened and having to re-read. This was completely the opposite though, it had me wide awake, alert and not wanting to put it down.

Overall:

I started an hour late but I’m still pretty proud of my 40 page total especially since I was tiered and I’m a slow reader anyway. I’ll definitely be joining in with the next one which is going to be Harry Potter themed and take place on the 20 year anniversary of the Philosophers Stone! I’ll probably read my illustrated edition for that one 🙂

3 thoughts on “Cosy Reading Night – Wrap Up

  1. I’ve never heard of this readathon! I could definitely commit to something like this.

    “I’ll definitely be joining in with the next one which is going to be Harry Potter themed and take place on the 20 year anniversary of the Philosophers Stone! I’ll probably read my illustrated edition for that one..”

    When is this?! I want to join and read my illustrated edition too!

    I also can’t wait to see what you think of Homegoing. It has been sitting on my shelf since it came out and I really need to pick it up.

    Like

    1. I’ll put the link to the video at the end of this comment for you so you can check out when the others will be:).
      So looking forward to the HP one though I don’t know whether to just read the illustrated one or listen to the audio (because I adore the narrator) and flip through the illustrated one as I listen.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

