Read-a-thon

Quick Reads #4 – A Monster Calls

a monster calls

Synopsis:

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.
But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…
This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.
It wants the truth.

Goodreads Genres:

Fantasy / Young Adult / Horror / Contemporary

Recommend to:

If you like dark and eerie short stories this one is definitely for you. If you are grieving or going through a particularly difficult time I found this book comforting in the sense that it made me realise how I wasn’t alone.

My Thoughts:

I loved this book pretty much from the get go. It had the dark and gritty feel of a Neil Gaiman book and those that know me will know how much praise that is from me. I have the illustrated edition of this and I feel the pictures really brought it all to life. I felt very connected to the themes and the premise of the plot and I felt it was a very realistic look at the stages of grief. I would recommend picking up the illustrated edition if you can but if you can only get the normal edition the story will still be enough to pull you through. I would recommend reading in the autumn/winter months, I wish I had read it in Autumn because the scenes really suit cold atmospheric weather.

 

11 thoughts on “Quick Reads #4 – A Monster Calls

      1. This book would actually fit in quite nicely with everything I have going on. I’m currently playing Fall Bookish Bingo and this book would work for the “Short Story” bingo square. And there’s also the Halloween Read-a-Thon coming up (Oct. 11-31) and this book would fit right into the challenge! So it sounds like fate may be trying to tell me something… 😉 LOL

        Like

Leave a comment